Join us on our catamaran in US Virgin Islands



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    My partner and I are looking for a crew member that would act as part stew, part deck hand, part go-fer, etc. We are a professional couple both working remotely from our catamaran currently in the US Virgin Islands. We need help with all the basic chores from cleaning, occasional cooking, helping with laundry and water runs, replacing deck screws, possibly sewing, possible wood work staining, handing me tools if I'm in the engine room because I always forget something I need, etc. In exchange, we'd provide provisions on board and off while you were with us (i.e. crew dinner), your own spacious cabin, and time off to enjoy the US Virgin Islands as well as Puerto Rico, Culerbra and Vieques.

    We do have a dog on board, so please be dog friendly.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about living on a boat, off the grid to a large extent. General boat maintenance and cleaning, and meet the great folks of the Caribbean. You can also volunteer on island if you want.

  • Help


    We live on our catamaran sail boat, and you'll be helping with general tasks and cleaning, maybe some sewing (I'll teach you), and some shared cooking. I handle all major maintenance items,you might need to hand me tools, but I'd be happy to teach if you want to learn to change oil and fuel filters.

    Kate and I both work remotely, so you'll be expected to entertain yourself, or go off and meet friends in your spare time. When we are not working, we are fun and relaxed and easy to get along with.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd love to freshen up my French from high school, or practice my extreme beginner Spanish. Kate speaks fluent Spanish, although with a American Southern accent.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own cabin and head (bathroom). I have two spare cabins on the starboard side of the boat. The rest of the boat is common area, with lots of outside space. I pay for all food on the boat. We share in meal preparation, trading off days.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Your spare time is yours to explore. I have a tender/dinghy to get us back and forth from the boat to land, but land transportation is up to you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Kate and I both work remotely. We have Starlink and at least one cell-based backup MiFi device.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 413933737887



Live aboard and work as a crew member aboard a youth sail training vessel in the Virgin Islands
House in St Thomas, US Virgin Islands