Off grid eco-build in gorgeous mountains of Tasmania

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 487 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    90  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Do you love nature? what about off grid living? How about great food and great company? How about learning some new skills? We need your help with our dream. We have built an earthship (with lots of help) and want to share in this type of building design. We are located in a gorgeous mountain/ bush setting, totally off grid. We make electricity from solar, and our water comes from a mountain spring. The help is different everyday as we hope to teach many things to our fellow travelers. Some jobs include; cob making, bottle brick making, rendering, gardening, landscaping, working on a hugle wall, horse care, harvesting and much more. No experience necessary, just your creative loving hands. Such is the life on a property in the bush. You can sleep in a tipi, or a hut and camping space is also available. We are totally on solar and there is no wifi available here. You might get phone reception in the window (ha, ha). There are amazing bush walks all outside our back door. The weather is changeable; hot to cold, rain, snow, sunshine could all happen in a day. We want to hear about your experiences, and learn from you as well. We are relaxed people and like to help 4-5 hours per day, 5 days a week; some in the morning and some in the afternoon. We start the day with yoga and meditation. On Saturday and Sunday enjoy cooking communally with each other (please provide your own food for that). We have an outdoor area for showering and hot water at the firebath. Just a few sticks and in three minutes, hot water! You will learn how to use a composting toilet. We want to trigger your curiosity to learn other ways of adapting to a simpler lifestyle. We want to share our experience in alternative living with you not just have you come and help. We encourage a community environment and good communication. We are vegetarian and would love to cook for you. We ask for two weeks minimum We feel you get a handle on everything as well as become invested in the project. We arrange transport from Deloraine during a weekday and do not drive into town everyday. We practice biodynmaic gardening, yoga, meditation and have a million stories about India. We look forward to meeting you... Peace

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope to share with you how to live simply and totally off grid. As well, we like to share our skills in tipi making, bush skills, hide tanning and meditation. We will be able to teach you how to make cob, how to build with cob, what an earthship is, cooking, making a rocket stove and generally how to get the most out of life.

  • Help

    Help

    We are making cob, bottle walls, light construction and heaps of pizzas in the cob oven. We also practice biodynamic gardening and grow about 20% of our food so we are hoping for help in the garden. As well making trails, paths, cool nooks. Making the fire bath area super awesome is also one of the projects. Have you ever made a rocket stove? Come and learn how!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can camp in a tent or tipi or a hut without electricity. There is fresh mountain water for drinking plenty of wood for fire making. We have a working cob oven for making lots of yummy foods as well as a working fire bath.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a mountain setting with lots of bush walks all around the house and caves up the back. We also have two horses.
    We are vegetarians with lots of cooking experience and would love to cook for you. If you would like to eat meat you may provide and cook your own.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





































































Host ref number: 413333397713