Learn ecological building and help with permaculture gardening in Bretagne, France

Country

France

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm simon.
    I'm a stonemason and ecological builder. I enjoy walking, running, cycling, reading football and surfing
    I'm looking for help to finish off some of the jobs on my home.
    I have several projects that I'm either already involved in or just waiting for the right help.
    including
    Natural swimming pool
    Earthship extension
    Nature santuary
    Tree house
    I also have some less interesting projects that need finishing
    Painting internal rooms
    Lime pointing
    Lime and hemp rendering
    Woodwork projects involving recycled wood

    I have twin daughters who live with me part time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is the perfect opportunity for anyone looking to learn ecological building and renovation.
    Working with lime and hemp to repoint a two hundred year old farm house. Also to render the internal walls with hemp and lime.
    Making and painting with lime paint and ocre.
    Building a kitchen with recycled wood and pallets.
    The ability to learn and improve your English and French language skills.
    Enjoy life.

  • Help

    Help

    I want the experience to be enjoyable and a learning opportunity.
    I'm looking for help with -
    Start creating a permaculure garden.
    Finish building a kitchen out of pallets. Dismantle pallets, sand clean and cut the timber and create doors.
    Creating a natural swimming pond dig and line and help with the design
    Lime and hemp rendering
    Lime pointing
    Gardening
    Soft landscaping and garden clearing - very lightly to help nature and me blend together
    Creative building
    upcycling projects
    painting the inside of my house with both lime wash paint and regular oil based and emulsion
    chip in with the cooking and keeping tidy

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Czech: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm studying Czech. So would be really interested in anyone willing to help with that.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large spacious four bedroom house with large 4000M2 garden
    In a large bedroom with a double bed with TV, DVD, chromecast
    2km from local shops and village with cinema, several bars and resturants and bus station
    7km from town with large cinema, bowling and billard, swimming pool and all main retail outlets
    Bath
    Shower
    Internet
    Netflix and Amazon prime
    Gym (of sorts)
    2 dogs
    1 cat
    6 chickens - fresh eggs every morning

    You will eat with the family. And are welcome to help with any of the cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Very close to the Nantes Brest canal
    Beautiful walks in nature
    Surfing at the weekend
    Cinema
    Cycling
    Local town 5 minutes drive
    Local village 2km - bars, cinema and resturants

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Off road parking available

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 612554819273