Come and experience the suburban lifestyle near Budapest, Hungary

  • Hungary
  • Favourited 90 times
  • Last activity: 27 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are Mesi and Joe, living in the heart of Hungary (EU), Gyömrő - the place of romance. It is 15 kilometers from the capital Budapest and 15 mins from the Airport.
    We are two friendly, happy, helpful and open minded people. It always makes us happy when we can meet new people, hear their stories, share our experience and have a good time. We are interested in healthy eating (sugarfree & wholegrain) and we are open to other nation's food (but no worries, we like sweets occasionally 😉). Direct and empathetic communication is also important for us in our household. We like to go out, chat, share the experiences and enjoy the happy, fun and calm atmosphere.
    Mesi is a friendly and compassionate person with a big heart. She likes chatting, direct communication is important for her. She speaks intermediate English, so the practise is really useful. Joe is extroverted, likes good stories and jokes, listening electronic music, is always open to going out, speaks upper-intermediate english, but likes to practise.
    Our lovely town has restaurants and a cafés, live music and summer events, a castle, a swimming lake, fishing lake and a swimming pool, but there are a plenty of any other trip activities in nature with beautiful walkpaths, small rivers, forests. If you prefer city life and historical downtown sight-seeing, you can go to Budapest by 20 min drive or 30 min by train/bus.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Unique language, food, culture, great city!

  • Help


    We are looking for one/two workawayers. For practical reasons we cannot invite helpers who are travelling with pets. We love to share our daily life, and mainly we need help in cooking (so if you love to cook you are welcome), cleaning, some garden work, but it's up to you and mostly we will work together. Also we would like help in English language practice.

    When messaging us, please include:
    Your travel dates (start date, duration, any flexibility), your household experiences and why you think you are the right person for our family.
    Our ideal workaway volunteer has experience in cooking&household and a person with whom we could chat, laugh and have a good time around a table. You are always welcome to join us for family meals. We eat meat, try to avoid sugar but we can easily adapt vegetarian diets, or other allergies if you have. Weekends are flexible. You could join in our family life, but get to have a lot of free time to do your own thing, whether it’s learning or pursuing an activity/hobbies or sight-seeing around Gyömrő/Budapest or just relaxing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Hungarian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have a small but brand new house with a private room + huge mattress for workawayers. Kitchen and bathroom are shared.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 224571229656

Feedback (6)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Looking for some help around our cosmopolitan summer hideaway near Zalakaros, Hungary
Join a visual artist in creating a unique experience for the curious in a forest of Csolyospalos, Hungary