Small farm near lakes and trails in beautiful British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 137 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have been building up a small mixed farm and practice ecological, organic and permaculture methods. There is a husband Kevin, wife Carma and our young adult kids are away at university. A cat and and a dog who also live with us. We work off farm on different days. The property is shared also with a sister and her two small boys who live in a separate suite.

    Our haskap berry orchard is two acres; we grow hogs and raise ducks for eggs, meat and pest control. Our horses provide composted soil and adventure. We're learning beekeeping from four honeybee colonies and a local mentor. Our family sized gardens supplement the groceries we buy locally, sometimes as local as next door.

    It's a magical place to experience nature but not far from civilization. We look forward to spotting the first hummingbird to arrive in Spring. There is a redtail hawk nesting nearby and Great Gray owls can be heard at night. Coyote, bear and deer wander through seasonally.

    Located between Vancouver and the Rocky Mountains.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a chance to experience first hand, life in the beautiful Shuswap Lake region of British Columbia. Everyday we are thankful for the life we are creating here and are happy to share all that we have learned. From animal husbandry, to ecological gardening and building a balance of wild and crafted vegetation on our property. We enjoy hearing stories from other people's experiences and are happy to help with English studies.

    Your time here will include a little of many things Canadian and hopefully we will learn from you also.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for help with weeding, berry orchard, and animal care mostly. Stay a few days or a couple weeks.

    Physical work outdoors but not heavy lifting or dangerous. Household cooking and cleaning also appreciated.

    Since there is much to get done, we often work alone and only sometimes together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private sleeping space is a tent with mattress, linens and a light. Bathroom and kitchen space shared for meals.

    Groceries are provided to make your own breakfast and lunch. Dinner/supper is generally eaten together. Generally not vegan but some can be provided. A full breakfast with farm produce is offered at times if you like. Good time to catch up and share a meal. Snacks and drinks are not provided but there are stores a few miles down the road.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots to explore in the Shuswap Lakes region if you enjoy the outdoors! Walk to the beach to cool off in the water or lots of well marked hiking trails nearby. Short drive to explore rivers, mountains and lakes.

    Houseboating is an hour away or rent a kayak nearby to paddle around the Shuswap. Ziplining and local festivals. Borrow our bicycle to tour around the area.

    We are a few kms from Sorrento and travel to Kamloops and Salmon Arm weekdays for work if you want to spend the day there. There is no local transit but we provide a bicycle or carpool weekdays.

    Our expectations include work hard and enjoy life. Respect others and self. No-smoking on the property. We are friendly and engaging but enjoy peace and quiet in the evenings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 394616758545