Come and help me with laying paths, creating dog enrichment areas and a chicken coop in the Lake District in Kendal, Cumbria, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 205 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2500

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have recently relocated back to the UK from Bulgaria, where I lived for 14 years and ran a dog rescue there. I now live with my 8 rescue dogs on a smallholding just outside Kendal in the Lake District at the base of the fells.

    I have around 2 acres and have been creating vegetable areas, planting bushes and natural hedges. But still more to do......

    I have acquired some very heavy concrete slabs and paving stones/bricks and want to create paths along the "higher" traffic areas that get walked most as getting very muddy. Need some strong muscles to help lift LOL.

    There is a small field I hope to add some things to for enrichment and play time for the dogs as well as make a seating area for me and others there.

    There are two large barns that need re-roofing and this will be done in May and one of these is an indoor play area for the dogs and eventually would love to have murals and paintings on the walls to brighten it up and also make a work shop area, and there will be a place for some chickens.

    There are also some areas of dry stone walling to repair if anyone has experience with this.

    Inside the house I could do with some small electric jobs (changing european plugs to english, there is the odd light fitting to change) etc.

    Once barn roof is done, I want to create a super duper chicken area and put up a greenhouse.

    Also dog care will be needed when we can travel again so I can get away and visit friends. But needs someone very confident with dogs, and must follow instructions to the "t".

    Happy to accommodate vegetarians but would prefer not vegan. I eat meat and will continue to do so but equally happy with mostly vegetarian meals. However, there will be meat in the fridge and freezer and my dogs eat a mostly raw diet of offal, meat and bones.

    Really looking for single person or couple that wants to come for a week or two and help with specific jobs. Own bedroom (double bed or can put single in there as well) and own bathroom. Own lounge if want it, although no Smart TV in there.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoy walking in the Lakes
    Living in an amazing place for a while
    Good northern hospitality
    Living with 8 mad rescue dogs

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, path laying, dry stone walling, painting murals, creating dog enrichment areas, dog walking, fencing, small electrics, landscaping.....

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Need to learn some Spanish!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spare room in house with own bathroom
    Double bed (can put a single mattress on floor of same room if do not want to share bed)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is not walkable to any shops or on the bus route but I regularly drive into town (maybe once or twice a week)
    Lots of footpaths and bridleways to explore and get into the hills

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Have high speed fibre optic broadband although due to thick walls of house it does not always work brilliantly in all rooms and have extenders through out house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Possibly although found increases my electric bill an awful lot when have a camper plugged in 24/7 and anything larger than a VW transporter size won't fit in barn or anywhere else.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 or 4 hours a day, 5 days







Host ref number: 3941176114a2