Outdoors help, including with native birds in the Southern Moreton Bay Islands, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a 5 acre, waterfront property in the Southern Moreton Bay Islands, accessible to Brisbane by public transport. Where we live is idyllic—a tropical resort.

    We share our space with two large dogs, chickens, ducks, bees and an assortment of native birds on the water-lily and lotus filled pond .

    We’re creating a permaculture farm, but as yet only self-sufficient with eggs, mangoes and some vegetables.

    This is a great place to relax and enjoy the gardens, meditate, Bush walk, yoga, fish, boating, visiting other islands and take a boat trip to the beach,

    Can accommodate a couple sharing a room or 2 people, separately (private bathroom and living). There is room for a caravan or campervan and plenty of places to camp if that is your preference.

    Must be non-smokers as this is a non-smoking property.

    Meals can be provided and hopefully we can exchange recipes and learn your specialties. We are not vegan, but can easily cater for vegetarians and vegans.

    There is no TV on-site, although there is internet access and a vinyl collection.

    We expect a contribution of 20 hours per person, per week, spread over a few days to help outside in the gardens, or inside if you prefer.

    Minimum commitment is 1 week, 2 weeks or longer preferred.

    We are a relaxed couple and our kids are all grown and living away. We moved here to retire.

    We are LGBTQI+ welcome.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can learn together about permaculture and the skills to maintain a small farm.
    We are good talkers and interested about what is going on in the world.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with gardens, fencing, maintenance, around the house and having fun

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be welcomed into our family and have your own room. There is space if you want to bring a van or camp, but you don’t need a car on the island.

    We eat together and will generally cook, but it is great if you want to share cooking. We are not vegetarian but can cater.

    You will be responsible for keeping your own space tidy. But share keeping common areas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Thee are bush walks, bird watching, fishing and we are not far from Brisbane. You can visit other islands and go to bay-side beach. When weather is warm we usually go by boat to an ocean beach once a week.
    Property is big so there are spaces to just chill, read a book,paint, meditate or play music.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Intent connection is OK, not hi speed,

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 5 acres, plenty of space or you can leave your vehicle on the mainland

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours per week


Host ref number: 392723785883