Help with building and gardening in Kangaroo Island, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a bush block next to Pelican Lagoon. We have a variety of work to do depending on your skills or not! A positive attitude and willingness to learn is always helpful. We are exteachers so language learning is a fun thing for us to do as well.
    We view this as much a cultural and social exchange as well as a working and skill experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We travel the world and Australia mainly by bicycle and we love to share our home and place with other travellers as well as learn from them. If you would like to improve your English speaking we are more than happy as we both taught English in schools....we generally work on a mixture of maintenance and learning tasks...and you will have the opportunity to learn a new skill usually in the The building or construction area. Our house is solar powered and runs on cloud juice so if you want to find out more about that we are happy to share. Our large garden is based on organic principles and we could learn from each other! We have some knowledge of our local environment and are members of an active environmental group as well as birdwatching, walking, canoeing and dragon boating which you are invited to be part of. If you are visiting other parts of Australia or New Zealand you may be interested in our travels through those regions.

  • Help

    Help

    For the 2019 -20 summer we are specifically wanting help with the following projects. If you don’t have these skills we always appreciate General garden work and willing helping hands, we are flexible and always happy to teach you new skills as well. So don’t hesitate to ask!

    If you have skills in any of the areas below please let us know where you think you could help when you apply and we will fit you with the work if we can.

    PAINTING . Window frames in the main house...this involves some basic cleaning preparation, taping up of windows and finishing with paint. There is some ladder work involved with outside painting..not high!

    SPRING CLEANING of the main house. A couple of people who love house keeping and things clean! You will need to enjoy doing this work and it will be very much appreciated. It includes cleaning cupboards and drawers as well as walls and ceilings, polishing pots, pans, glass, furniture and floors and getting into all those corners to wash and dust! Plus anything else that takes your fancy.

    ROAD MAINTENANCE/VEGETATION Clearance for bushfire work/Shifting, stacking and cutting firewood.This is reasonably physical labour as it involves shovelling gravel and marl off the trailer to form a track surface, lifting and carrying wood, cutting and removing acacia bushes, driving the old farm ute around if it’s still going...

    PAINTING in the main house. Front lounge inside...this involves moving furniture under cover, cleaning, prepping walls and painting. Some scaffolding work involved.

    PAINTING round the property.....including outbuildings..

    CONSTRUCTION BUILDING a small veranda to shade the shed. Some basic skills would be helpful. This project would involve setting up and digging holes for posts, constructing timber framing for the verandah and putting on a galv iron roof and guttering.

    GARDEN ....as usual and always appreciated.


    Help in a variety of areas and we are happy to teach you new skills....building and gardening are our main areas of work...just finished a pétanque area, stone wall area and a wood shed. We may be painting, doing rock work and building as well as work in the garden, mulching, compost tasks and planting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is varied from a bedroom in a rough shack to substantial tents. Mostly people have a place to themselves. Comfortable bed and all linen provided. Meals are with us. Home brew beer for you to compare with commercial beers!
    All eating regimes generally catered for if you give us some notice.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    PLEASE READ THIS CAREFULLY..Kangaroo Island is a tourist destination so there are many sites to see both on and off the beaten track. Unfortunately there is no public transport on the island though there are bus tours to the main attractions which are good value for the price. Please do not ask to borrow our car to tour the island or for us to provide a tour for you. There are both legal and insurance issues with this practise which may invalidate your travel and medical insurance if there was an accident involving you and or the car.
    We will pick up from the local ferry when you arrive and depart from the island. You will be invited to all our outings where possible and appropriate and after work we will drive you to the two nearest beaches for swimming and recreation. There is a pétanque area on the property as well as a double canoe though conditions aren’t always favourable to use it. We also book you a seat in the local dragon boating sessions and take you there. All of this we consider to be part of the exchange when you come to stay at our place.
    There is a range of wildlife on the property and you will not be disappointed. Koalas are an introduced species on the island and are causing considerable environmental damage in riverine environments. They are currently being controlled as a feral species. There are no koalas on this or surrounding properties. Plenty of marine and birdlife and the usual spiders, sharks and snakes. Wanda lives in the outside bathroom and is considered an endangered species.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 242511486483