Polar bears, beluga whales, northern lights - stay and help in the Polar Bear Capital of the World, Churchill, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 297 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I own and operate a polar bear, wildlife and northern lights guiding company in Churchill, Manitoba - The Polar Bear Capital of the World. We cater mainly to photographers and film crews but also tourists. I am in the process of expanding and building yurt camps for northern lights viewing. Outside of work we are a family of 4, with two children under 4.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Churchill is the polar bear capital of the world. During certain times of the year we have polar bears migrating through our town. It is also one of the worlds best spots to view northern lights, and in the summer is a migration point for thousands of Beluga whales. We are a northern Canadian remote, beautiful and unique town surrounded by nature and wildlife. Coming to see us will give anyone a once in a lifetime view into a different way of life.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for people who can help with the day to day activities of our life in the north, which may be chopping fire wood, helping with renovations, picking berries, mushroom, hunting, keeping the fire going, cooking etc. Our family of four (including two young children under 4) are also in need of someone who can provide childcare during the day while we are at work, and also other general house chores such as cleaning and cooking family meals. I want our children to be exposed to other cultures and languages and would love travellers who will not only care or our children but engage them with their own culture.

    There is also the chance for paid work to help out with my tour business, including tasks such as cleaning the cabins/yurts, taking care of guests, driving, cooking and if you stay long enough and are willing to learn perhaps overnighting at camp and being a polar bear guard. Tasks vary throughout the year as Churchill is a very seasonal town; -50c winters for Aurora, polar bear season in the fall, +30c summers with beluga whales and migratory bird life etc. The tour business jobs relate to the season and activities those seasons allow.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on what you are coming for you may be staying with us in our house, at my cabin, or in the future one of my yurt camps. The cabins and yurts will be more rustic but a much more unique experience. The house will be in the Town of Churchill and provide all amenities.

    The cabin is remote from town. It does have electricity but I prefer to heat with the wood stove. It sits on a lake in a small cottage area and is often frequented by wildlife and foxes of all colours including arctic foxes, loons, ducks, geese, ptarmigan and the occasional polar bear. There is no running water at the cabin, meaning honey bucket style toilet and showers will be taken in town.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I run small group polar bear, wildlife and northern lights tours. Anyone coming to stay with us will have the chance to come out with me to experience those things. During the summer you can go kayaking, paddle boarding or swimming with beluga whales. Fall is polar bear season and winter is Aurora season. If nothing else, just enjoy spending some time in a remote town in Northern Canada and see what small town life is really like.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hrs/day, 5 days/week


Host ref number: 385887224587