Fine tune your sanding skills and experience Barcelona, Spain

  • Favourited 848 times
  • Last activity: 19 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My husband, 3 year old dog and I are currently in the process of finishing up a restoration project of what was once a neglected space located in Barcelona, Spain. The space is almost done, but we’re still working on it and we need your help.

    So come help with some smaller interior work, cleaning up, painting, light construction, gardening, and other useful projects.

    You get to stay in a private loft bedroom that we just renovated, so you can have some privacy when you get tired of hanging out with us. Note the space is an open concept loft apartment and sound carries.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a culturally diverse neighbourhood. There are so many opportunities here. Travellers will learn new manual skills, be able to work on their Spanish or English and learn about the amazing city that Barcelona is.

  • Help

    Help

    Modern, centrally located two bedroom space with shared terrace, kitchen and studio. We are located in the neighbourhood of Poble Sec in the city of Barcelona. Small shared terrace. We have no access to parking. Wireless internet and on-site laundry are included.

    Close to great restaurants, coffee, art and live music.

    We found workaway.info in 2010 and have used them to host for a number of great visits. We are excited to put our new home in Barcelona up and to continue meeting people from around the world.

    Our construction is not entirely complete and we are currently looking for help with finishing up this project.

    The photos are of the space "all cleaned up" we are currently renovating the space and there is wood, furniture, boxes and building materials and tools everywhere. So it's much more chaotic. You would be helping us finish the renovation and get the space back to what it looks like in the photos.

    Specific projects we have going on are:

    -Finishing up a construction project-this involves moving items, sanding, varnishing, cleaning up, sweeping, mopping, scrubbing and organising a space.

    Hope that gives you an idea.

    We find 1 to 2 weeks works best for us for hosting.

    We only host solo travellers.

    If you are good cook please make sure you come visit!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Catalan: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Eric needs to work on his Catalan, Wendy needs to work on her Spanish and Catalan and Isabel, our 3 year old dog, needs to work on her manners.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own loft room with shared kitchen, bathroom, studio space and terrace. The space is an open loft space with the two small bedrooms being loft bedrooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The space is currently undergoing renovation so it's not as pretty and clean as these photos. You will be helping us get it back to what the photos look like. Basically we have 1 million projects and you'd be asked to do a few so our "to do" list is a tiny bit smaller.

    We have one three year old Labrador/Podenco hound (we think) mix. See pics. If you don’t like dogs, this is not for you. You should expect the house to be cleanish.

    Loft space apartment includes living room, fully equipped kitchen, bath with shower, 2 bedrooms-1 queen bedroom, 1 single bedroom, private terrace. Working studio in the front, so it may be messy upfront. Cell phone coverage and Internet wifi.

    So in general come help out at our place and experience the life in Barcelona, plus don’t expect too much except a friendly group of folks a crazy crazy dog and maybe some decent cooking. We’re no Hilton, more like your garage without the car.

    This is a non smoking space throughout.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, you can bank your time.

Host ref number: 3847219444c5

Feedback (34)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)















































Come and help us with our permaculture project and collection of medicinal plants in Sella, Spain
Help with gardening and around the house in the Valencia region of Spain