Help us create a beautiful, environmentally positive place to live near Malaga, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 884 times
  • Last activity: 20 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    URGENT NOTE: We don’t host people for one week.

    We are currently looking for people to stay for Long periods, primarily to look after the animals, preferible with experience in horses, and keep the plants well watered over the hot summer months (and feed the chickens!). Ideally you will have your own vehicle as the nearest supermarket is a 15 minute drive. If this sounds like something you would enjoy then please get in touch ASAP and we can chat more. Now we looking for a person who knows about Bioconstrucción.

    Welcome to our page...!

    I am Asun (Spanish girl). We have 9 acres of exceptionally beautiful and wild land just inland from Malaga. We are working with the hillside to make a beautiful, environmentally positive place to live and would love to share this work with you.

    We currently have two yurts and two tippis and have installed 4 solar panels (with more planned soon). We are working on rainwater collection and have recently dug a well on the land which now needs completed. We have some terracing to grow vegetables and are looking to extend this further. So far we have melons, strawberries, chard, peppers, verdolaga and lots of herbs growing happily, in addition to the almond and olive trees that were already here.

    Over the coming months there will be a lot of activity on the land as we build communal areas (outdoor kitchen etc) and we are looking for helpers who are not afraid to get their hands dirty!

    We speak Spanish and English. Asun lives in Spain and Alexis (me!) lives in Scotland and will be making regular trips over to work on the land until the wonderful day when I can move over permanently :) You will also be sharing the hillside with 3 dogs and a cat.

    We're committed to environmental sustainability: all of the food we grow is organic. We're eager to share our knowledge and to learn from our guests.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Skills you can learn or improve include:
    Spanish/English language skills
    Gardening (pruning, companion planting, edible wild plants, etc.)
    Woodwork and use of tools
    Work with fabric and natural dyes
    Culturally, we're pretty wide-ranging. we're already used to interacting with other cultures.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    There's always gardening to do- watering, weeding, picking, eating. Some time soon we'll need to put in a simple trickle irrigation system. We have a lot of light construction to do: current projects include building an outdoor kitchen, seating areas, pumping water from the new well up the hill and installing a flushing toilet!

    Making terraces in the hillside is an ongoing process to provide space for gardening. A lot of this involves simple carpentry, which we would be happy to teach you about if it's not a skill you already have.

    There can also be a lot of mouths to feed so help with cooking would also be welcomed!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Tipis, and tents. If you are able to bring your own tent this would help us greatly.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're fifteen minutes' walk from a little village with a few bars and shops, and five miles from the beach and a small town.

    The centre of Málaga is just ten miles away, and there are regular buses. Málaga has a great range of cultural and leisure activities on offer- the Picasso, Thyssen and Pompidou museums, the Cervantes Theatre, Moorish, Roman and Renaissance architecture, and of course all the bars, restaurants and nightlife you would expect from a bustling student and tourist destination.

    If you prefer life's quieter pleasures, we're surrounded by beautiful natural/cultivated hills which are very popular with determined local cyclists. The hills also provide a home to a wide variety of wildlife, from rabbits and vividly coloured grasshoppers to eagles and hawks.

    We try to be environmentally friendly and would like our guests to respect that, but we also respect that everyone has their own perspective and approach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Decent wifi conection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have a parking space

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    only supper friendly, with cats, chikens and others dogs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 163814377776

Feedback (12)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Lend a hand to maintain our home and garden near the lovely Bierzo's Forest in Cadafresnas, Spain
English tutoring for a super playful, curious, energetic and caring 4 year old boy, Valencia, Spain