Come and help our family with some renovations and gardening in Złocieniec, Poland

Country

Poland

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family:
    Piotr (57)- architect
    Gosia (52)-philologist
    Ewa (24)-medical student
    Jan (22)-IT student
    Kasia (20)-art student
    Kacper (18)-high school student
    2 dogs, 1 cat, around 10 sheeps and a lot of fish
    We are owners of agriculture and a restaurant. In 2000 we’ve left big city and our previous life, jobs in institutions, big companies and moved to the village surrounded by wonderful nature. We have grown up four children who had the opportunity to spend their childhood in beautiful and clean environment. We started fish and sheep farming on a small ecological scale. We have been running a little fish restaurant for 12 years, which is quite successful. Our farm is small and most of it is occupied by fish ponds. Most of the time we spend on maintening and improving our place, but in free time we like to go for a walk or sit down, read books, watch movies, play boarding games or try new recipies in the kitchen. We’ve got inspired by our daughter, which has a lot of experience as a workawayer, to join this society. We decided to open to new people, invite them to our house and share our life, our skills, our knowledge and all the wonders of our place. Lubieszewo is charming little village in the west-north part of Poland. Surrounded by glacial landscape abounds in lakes and beautiful forests. The village is located by one of the biggest lakes in Poland (Lubie, ok. 1450 ha), where you can go sailing, windsurfing or fishing. There is also a famous polish canoeing trail on the Drawa river. There is plenty of clean lakes with fish and forests with mushrooms (collecting them is quite common activity in Poland) and wild animals. The hilly and varied landscape is also good for bike riding, there are many trails here. There is also a big military area in near where you can try some motor sports-cross or offroad. Our lake district is a bit smaller and way less crowded version of more popular Mazury lake district.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will love to share our experience with you. We have a restaurant, you can try our specialties and learn how to cook some traditional polish dishes. You can improve or learn polish, we would like to tell you about our country, our history and culture. You can see the life in the little village, far from big cities. We encourage you to use all of the possibilities here to spend your time actively-we have bikes, canoes, fishing rods, tennis rackets (there is a tennis court near by). We also have an old sail which doesn't work now, but if you want to try your hand in renovating it and sailing, feel free. The nature is beautiful here so we love to organise BBQs, go for a walk, go for jogging, collecting fruits or mushrooms. We have quiet big garden with hammock and some seats to chill and enjoy the nature around. There is also a beach 300 m from our house, where you can chill and swim. We have some musical instruments-a piano, an acoustic guitar and an electric guitar-would be great to have some music in the house :))

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the tasks are physical and dirty work. We have an old house to renovate. We need help in cleaning the garden, cutting grass and taking care of our animals. We would also like to build a basement next to the house. So basically we need building, cleaning, painting skills. We look for people who are not afraid of carrying heavy stuff, getting dirty, using shovel or rake. Also if you have any art skills, we are ready to give you some space for your creativity. You don't have to have experience, but you have to be eager to help and learn.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer you 2 or 3 people room with a private bathroom. There is an acces to internet, kitchen and washing machine. We will provide you 3 meals a day, there is also a little shop in the village if you need anything more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 383398234516