Join our family and small lifestyle farm in Milton, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Kia Ora
    Ko whanakao te maunga
    Ko kereru te awa
    Ko matatua te Waka
    Ko tekaha te marae
    Ko te ehutu te hapu
    Ko te whanau a apanui te iwi
    Ko Ranui ahau

    I am Ranui more commonly known as Ra and I live with my daughter Bobbi May who turns 3 at the end of May 2024.

    We offer a small lifestyle farm 50 KM South of Dunedin. There are horses, cows, chickens, pigs, dogs and cats set on approximately 6 acres in rural NZ with lake views. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Large older style farmhouse.

    In winter house is heated by a good fire, bedroom has a heater and the bed has an electric blanket. Please do not expect to be able to run heaters all the time. If winter be prepared with warm clothes it can get very chilly.

    I work full time and need people to be here to help care for animals throughout the day. There will be some getting dirty at times. There are some DIY projects that we could definitely need a hand with so please mention specific skills you have in the request email. Most wanted features on your profile- own transport, experience/skill in something, self-motivated and enthusiastic, references ideally.
    There will be jobs to be done around the house also to keep things clean and tidy.
    There is something here to suit most people's abilities.
    We prefer positive people who appreciate spending time with animals, quiet time in the country but can work well independently as I am not always here to give direction. Plenty of food, time off, and entertainment! If you require special food, please bring this for yourself otherwise there is plenty of fresh produce, home farmed meats, locally caught fish and seafood.
    Most importantly need to be good with an energetic fun loving happy wee toddler as she loves to interact and enjoys playing with others. Bobbi attends daycare full time while I am at work but it is greatly appreciated if dinner is cooked and ready for us not long after we get home from our busy working day. On my days off i like to share and cook for you. You can expect dome traditional Māori kiwi dishes.

    If you want to have a short escape from the tourist trail, surrounded by animals, in a rural setting in the peace and quiet and an opportunity to make a contribution on your travels, love to hear from you!
    Need to know your time frame, how you are traveling, and how you see yourself fitting in with our lifestyle. Preference for people with own transport. We are close to the Catlins and also have a few cool short walking tracks in the area to explore when there isn't any work to be done.
    Calendar not relevant as I will always find room for someone with a particular skill set, we need at the time.
    Absolutely must love dogs as our big goof lives indoors with us.

    Nga mihi
    Look forward to hearing from you

    Ra and Bobbi

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being of Maori decent I am happy to share my culture. Warm welcoming and love to share kai (food).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Feeding, watering and care of farm animals, dogs and cats. Walking dogs.
    Cooking meals and baking.
    Cleaning and general house chores.
    Gardening and tidying.
    Cleaning horse gear/tack.
    Mowing lawns. Water blasting.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Maori: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Own bedroom over looking animals paddocks with access directly to the deck outside. Queens size bed with all bedding provided. Towels provided. access to laundry washing machine and dryer. Gas hot water and great pressure shower. Extra large bath tub. All food provided unless requiring something special such as gluten free will need to advice before stay or bring some of your own special food items.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have onsite plug to power campervan and plenty of parking space on the land

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Plenty of space for pets here

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 381932164461

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Help out around rural property (20 acres) at Matheson Bay, Auckland, New Zealand
Help out in my lovely gardens in a small rural town in South Canterbury, New Zealand