Come help around our beautiful home in Gladstone in the Wairarapa, New Zealand


New Zealand

Favourited 188 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are 2 lovely hosts living in Gladstone in the Wairarapa. We have a big property and in middle of it is our amazing contemporary house surrounded by New Zealand natives and fruit and veggie gardens. We have 2 dogs and a cat, as well as many cows. We are very flexible with everything, so we can talk about your workaway hours, pick-ups and all other things. We are very interested in arts, so don't hesitate to ask if you want to see the best of it in the whole Wairarapa. On our drives to the near cities (Masterton, Carterton, Martinborough, Greytown, etc) we can take you with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in the nature between hills with an absolutely stunning view (especially the night skies). We are very interested in architecture, gardening, contemporary New Zealand art, festivals, art history and meeting people so we can talk to you about a lot of things. You'll probably learn something about farming. We often look after grandchildren aged 6, 7, 10, 11 & 12 ..two families. They add another very happy cultural exchange as they are real Kiwi kids.

  • Help


    Your main work is gardening, some household duties, sometimes cooking and being around the dogs and a cat. All easy tasks

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You've got your own large bedroom with a queen-sized bed, a cooling/heating A/C and a bathroom of your own including a hot water shower. You are going to live upstairs, so you have your own space, separated from us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Unfortunately, there is no public transport to our home so it's great if you have a vehicle, however, we can pick you up and drop you off when you want. There are plenty of beautiful towns as well as lots of vineyards around us, walking tracks, a hydroelectric dam on our property. A 30 minutes drive you'll find a bird reserve (Pukaha) with white kiwis and fantastic art and history museums, Aratoi and a Shears Museum in Masterton, Cobblestones in Greytown, Fell Engine in Featherston.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 896555523349