Help outdoors, lots of animals and peace - East Anglia near the beach in England, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 451 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description



    EMERGENCY!!!!!... can any strong man help me mend my pig shed roof that blew away yesterday in the gales???? !!!!
    I have 18 wonderful pet pigs that now have no shelter and I am desperate for some hands.. maybe two male friends even?? I can only promise a clean house, a massive cake and a comfortable place to live but will take you out with me for trips to Cambridge and happy to take you to the train station if you want to go and explore.

    I have space for help for a nice FRIENDLY SOCIABLE happy person or two who loves animals and enjoys working outside with their hands.
    Can you work on your own sometimes? ARE YOU RELIABLE AND DEPENDABLE? do you have initiative and some basic skills in woodwork and/or gardening and painting? and strong physically with a mature and responsible outlook?

    I have clean quiet room(s) in a nice peaceful tranquil house in a little natural corner of Norfolk, half a mile from the sea, looking for a nice easy going workaway occupant, who can speak English well enough to understand a sentence at a time (level 2 minimum?) available now, where the woodburner goes all day long and there is a good hot power shower along with a comfortable bed and three TV's. At this present time it is possible I can take two male friends.

    Tasks are predominantly outdoor, wood work and painting, some digging, some carpentry and animal feeding/care.
    Only suitable for an applicant or two due to being quite strenuous. So strong applicants only please.
    Right this moment I am looking for someone who has a bit of experience in maintenance, with some woodwork skills, and with some common sense who is able to get on with things on their own, maybe someone in the maturer stage of life who has been in the construction industry, or someone who has helped in the family carpentry or building trade? Just coming into the English horse racing season, so lots of trips to the races if you are interested, and nights to stay in and discover Cambridge.
    References from a previous job or host CRUCIAL .

    AND PLEASE NOTE: Applicants must be able to speak English well enough to understand and speak a sentence at a time please, maybe level 2 would be a minimum requirement, very important for safety reasons with animals around the place and for personal safety when using equipment.

    I will take you out and about when I can and time permitting, including trips to Cambridge and Norwich, horse racing and swimming and gym if you want, and do my best to cook you good meals using local produce and home recipes. There is always a home made cake for you to eat as well!
    I do not have children and I am not looking for a baby sitter or a carer, but it would be nice to have someone with a good sense of humour and who likes having a bit of fun.

    I run a very busy bed and breakfast here on the North Norfolk coastline, being located just half a mile from a sandy beach that you can walk to easily. Until late March it is very quiet here, a few guests at random times, but nothing compared to the mayhem of the summer. Because of the public nature of my home, references from either a past job, or from a college tutor or previous host will be required.

    I have a bike you can use if you want to.
    I don't have children to contend with so am not looking for a built in baby sitter! pig feeding would be an asset!
    Very quiet and laid back here with lots of wildlife and natural stuff... no night clubs so you must be happy to accept that fact although there are two local pubs within walking distance

    Interested? ... send me an email

    Previous workaway helps have stayed for nearly a year, 5 months and six months, but I would like to suggest a week's trial period and reassess after that time to see if we are happy mutually.

    I am easy to live with, can be fun, and above all I love my animals

    I can offer a comfortable room, a hot shower or bath and food in return for 4 hours help on a monday to friday basis.
    It is very quiet here, the countryside is quite vast as far as England goes, but I am only 5 miles away from two towns and 40 minutes from the city of Norwich
    The animals are everything to me and all of them are pets (including the 24 pigs) so someone who loves animals is a must please. My veg garden is organic, but nothing much is growing in the winter months, so keeping it tidy is the only thing going on with it until late March. I would like to suggest that we try a week's trial to make sure we are both happy with each other first before committing to any longer!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am told I talk a lot, so they can certainly learn English!... also learn how to care for animals and maybe bake the best cake in Norfolk!

  • Help


    painting, gardening, animal care, indoor and outdoor maintenance, in fact anything you can turn your hand to and enjoy doing! ...some basic woodwork repairs to the pig houses and house painting is the first priority please but not essential, carpentry skills a bonus but any help is greatly appreciated... if you have a favourite job or pastime that involves your hands and your initiative.. I am sure I have a job to fit it! you are welcome to join the gym with us, but all excursions and recreational pastimes involving payment must be paid for by the workaway/applicant, not me.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Private room within private house, to share the lounge and kitchen area and two bathrooms. Use of washing machine and general facilities
    NO smoking within the premises please, but you are welcome to smoke outside the door.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off:
    I will take you out and about with me pretty much whenever I go, this could include trips to Cambridge, (to stay for a night or two with my family) trips to Norwich and horse racing. I can take you shopping when necessary. I will also take you to the train if you wish to go on your own adventures. I have taken my recent lovely helpers to york, to Cambridge, to the cinema and all over Norfolk to see the sights. I am a member of the local gym, which is a really nice place to go.. with sauna and small swimming pool as well as nearly furbished gymnasium. I am happy to take you along with me, the monthly membership is pretty minimal when you join on my card as my guest.
    Around here there is a lovely boat trip out on the sea to see the local seal colony, two national trust old English heritages grand houses. There are lots of places of interest to visit if you like history.
    Wifi in the house, unrestricted use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 373535112826