Enjoy the Italian countryside, read and weed in the foothills of the Appennini

  • Favourited 345 times
  • Last activity: 12 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We live about half an hour from the beautiful city of Bologna, but nestled deep in the Italian countryside.
    We’re an English family, originally from London, and have lived in Italy for 15 years now.
    I teach English and edit an academic journal but my real passion is gardening.
    Our house is a bit rambling, but comfortable, stuffed with books, and full of lots of quiet places to go and read, meditate or just do nothing if you feel like it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our house is in the foothills of the Appennini surrounded by beautiful countryside. The nearest village, Grizzana Morandi (named after the artist Giorgio Morandi who used to come every summer to paint the hills as well as his famous barns) is about a 10-15 minute walk. Just out of our front door there are countless walks, many through ancient woodland. A car is essential for anyone wishing to explore beyond the countryside. We're 30 minutes from the medieval city of Bologna and about 75 minutes from Florence. The railway station is a 10 minute car journey but there’s always someone available to give you a lift if you want to go off somewhere.
    For anyone wishing to improve their Italian it's the perfect place because practically noone within a radius of 35k speaks English.
    In our adjacent barn there's a fairly well equipped gym for anyone wanting to work out, as well as table tennis.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    General upkeep of the garden, including a vegetable area. Lots of weeding and plenty of cutting down dead trees.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We live in a 500 year old modernized stone farmhouse, about one and a half kilometres from the village.
    There is every modern convenience, wi-fi, Skype, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours in the morning, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 373487995951

Feedback (22)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)