Sustainable Family Farm and Boarding Stable - Looking for childcare help and helping hand in Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 204 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are open to a Workawayer to Join our family as a member. Work along with us and play along with us.

    We are wanting someone outgoing and enthusiastic. Friendly and considerate. A desire to be involved in our daily activities, and offer a helping hand when needed. We want you to become part of our family, and be comfortable spending your time with us, our friends and family members. Creativity and curiosity would serve you well. We are willing to be flexible and accommodating but at the same time expecting to add someone as a true member of the family.

    My husband Jeff and I have three children, and a small family farm with horse boarding stable, near Sylvan Lake Alberta. We offer board for horses. We also breed and train draft and draft cross horses. We have a small herd of cattle, put up our own hay and have recently begun custom baling and grain harvesting on our 155acre farm. We are very diversified and strive to make ourselves self sufficient.

    We have a large family garden, one sweet well mannered dog, and a large energetic puppy, four barn cats, laying hens for a fresh supply of eggs, we raise our own beef and pork, and a two sweet milk cows. Our goal is to create sustainability on our small farm to raise our family. With rolling hills and a breathtaking mountain view we offer privacy, peace and quiet, and an opportunity to learn our way of life.

    My husband operates a business as a mechanic, with a wealth of knowledge and abilities. I stay at home with our three children and care for the farm/stable, home, garden and book keeping for the business.

    Our children range in ages from 9 - 5 years, (two boys and a girl). They are full of personality and love to have fun! Our visitor will be interacting with the children a great deal, and we encourage any learning opportunity for all involved.

    We enjoy a quiet family life, and take great pride in all that we have. We are always working on improvments to our property operations for ease and safety, being the utmost importance.

    We are located centrally between several small towns including Sylvan Lake, Rocky Mountain House, and Red Deer, but also major cities like Edmonton and Calgary.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We include our visitors in daily tasks, meals as well as events and celebrations. We share tasks and offer vast learning experiences on our farm, and with our children.

    Our children are beginning French immersion in school and are very eager to learn different languages and share another persons culture as well. We offer ample opportunity to gain experience with children, and share in their views, as this will be a primary task.

    Our horses range in age and stages of training. Most are used for riding and driving, with a relaxed atmosphere, but emphasis on safety. We occasionally take in horses for rehabilitation or healing reasons, where an opportunity for learing is vast. If interest is shown, we can accommodate riding opportunities as time and weather permit. We would like to show you our efforts towards sustainability including gardening, raising animals and producing our own feed. From pasture and riperian management, to general horse and cattle care, including calving and foaling. We would enjoy sharing our experiences, and learning cultures from abroad. We welcome enthusiasm, determination and curiosity and can offer a true cultural experience of the Canandian prairies. From rodeos and horse back riding, gardening and farming to local sights and sounds.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a workawayer to come and stay with us, become part of our family, and help with the care for our home & children, and assist with farm duties. An interest and experience with multiple children is required. Farm/Stable duties may include building fence, painting, cleaning stalls, yard maintenance, washing etc... Given our comfort level it could progress to operating of machinery and horse training aids. We are looking for a hard working, fun personality, with determination. Duties would range in hours and times as our schedule changes frequently, but is generally flexible. Any wanted time off, travelling or site seeing can surely be accomodated, and accessed. We are in search of someone wanting a true Canandian farm and family experience, and not an employee/employer type of situation. If you are in search of cheap travel accommodations for minimal effort, this may not suit well. We are busy and active and want someone to be along with us for the authentic opportunity to live our lifestyle. Someone who can step up and offer a hand when the need should arise and not only when asked. Follow schedules and house rules, for consideration and safety.

    Our three children are very active and involved in our activities, as would any workaway visitor be welcomed to join. Hockey games, day trips, rodeos, etc... we wish to invite you along. We offer to include our visitors, hoping they feel like part of the family. We would like to find someone that can come join us for an extended period of time if possible to help the kids feel comfortable. A NON-smoker, and someone accepting of the idea that we raise and eat our own eggs, milk, beef and pork on the farm. We have tried before and we are not willing to accommodate vegan/vegetarian choice of lifestyle. Also, our home is free of animals as my husband is allergic, should that be of concern. We like our visitors to feel welcome and comfortable, sharing in our lives completely should they choose. We want an outgoing personality, willing to engage, and involve themselves in our activities. Offer suggestions, ask questions, and lend a hand when needed. Someone who can work well alone, without guidance and supervision, willing to look for tasks, and notice when something just needs doing. Willing to work as a team or group to get a larger task accomplished. An open mind and open to sharing cultures. We like the opportunity to learn about different cultures from our visitors, and encourage sharing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are offering a private room within our home for our workawayer, with semi-private quarters for relaxing. Our home is smoke and pet free, with accomodations separate (but located within our home) from that of our family. It is important to know that we live in the country so transportation and access to town is limited to our schedule. If wanted we can assist in finding a vehicle, as we do not have an extra to offer. The nearest center is about 15 minutes away and 1-2 hours to the nearest larger cities. The majority of the food we eat is local or grown on our farm, with the intent to keep it as natural as possible. Our weather can be extreme with the seasons, and we do spend a fair amount of time outdoors, all year round.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We want to ensure to find someone comfortable with our laid back country lifestyle. We are looking for someone with previous child care experience, as this will be a main focus of attention. We encourage our visitor to join us in activities on and off of the farm, and hope to include you as a member of our family. We want someone with the following qualities: strong english skills, fun, patient, respectful, determined, compassionate, honest, clean, kind, friendly and trustworthy. We are looking for a relationship more personal and involved.

    A good work ethic is a must. Animal experience is not required but appreciated.

    To ensure comfort and compatibility we have a trial period of 10 days for both host and visitor.

    We are located centrally between Edmonton and Calgary with easy access to the Rocky Mountains. Banff or Jasper National Parks or just ventures out West can offer hiking, skiiing, sight seeing, fishing, rafting etc... or closer to the centers you will find shopping at West Edmonton Mall, Calgary Zoo, Spruce Meadows, Tyrell Museum, etc...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours /day 5 days / week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.3)














Host ref number: 368542939846