Botany Entemo.. Orntho..Taxo.. graduates wanted or excellent with your hands.

Country

Australia

Favourited 208 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Jude and Michel and their land and the proximity to the ocean have lots of offer for the right people. The live in a forest garden in a one acre urban block in Byron Bay.
    Si tu parles pas anglais, t'inquiète pas! 2 copines ensembles ou deux copains ensemble ok. Same sex ok.
    We have islands of food forests (since 1982), bamboo clumps, small sub tropical gardens, lawns, just 2.3km south of the Byron Bay Post Office and 100 metres. We have bikes for you. On a des becanes.
    You will be able to learn our way of Permaculture forest gardening.

    ACCOMMODATION
    A separate and PRIVATE accommodation 20 metres from the house surrounded by gardens, It is a renovated but remain modest tin and rendered brick glorified shed, decorated with original paintings and with an airy bathroom, compost toilet and small kitchen. An artist retreat it was used by our children.

    YOUR HOSTS
    Michel and Jude have hosted/trained interns and volunteers since the beginning of Permaculture in the late 1970s. 25 years personal relationship with Permacutlure founder.
    J and M founded a national organisation to conserve useful plant diversity but worked in 39 countries since 1986 - Note there is no TV in compound, but you will be guided to consult books amongst the 2000 titles in their ethnobotanical library. That is for keen students. None smokes here.
    On dit ici que nous sommes les fondateurs depuis 1986 d'une organisation semencieres

    LOCATION
    2.3km south of the Post Office, 100 m from main road. surrounded mostly by a coastal national park where a protected estuary/creek meets the ocean: lots of migratory brids. - cool, or what? There are bikes to ride.

    RULES
    Boozers and stoners not on nor in. Les fumeurs et ivrognes non mercy. Ici c'est pour les bosseurs et les fils et filles de paysans.

    Only for the super keen. We have had great experiences with Austrians, Italians we love, japanese stereotypes et les francais aussi the portuguese. Michel is french.
    And note, that here is an option for LONGer STAY. Please consult our websites and various platform entries.
    There is a test period of a few days.

    ACTION
    Please write back about what has influenced you in your life and in choosing the path that lead you to where you are now: We are interested to hear about your FAMILY background and your area of work or studies and life experience.

    TELL US YOUR ITINERARY please.
    WHERE you just now, WHEN do you expect to arrive in Byron Bay or our region. how long you have left on your visa. Visit us first if you are in the region.

    Exceptionally we take in working couples. Please apply.

    When you write end up with "Give peas a chance" so we know you have read so far. Tell us who you are thanks and how you are a useful person. That is important.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Permaculture pioneers

  • Help

    Help

    You will be in the gardens with Michel or Jude, one to one. They have published three books, one a best seller, and documentaries (just two) on biodiverse gardens, indigenous subsistence farming, food gardens in schools and seed production in home gardens.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate shed decorated as an artist's retreat, with lots of paintings situated in the lush gardens: one bedroom cum study room (3.5 m x 6 m) with a separate kitchen 3 x 3m, composting toilet, tropical bathroom with solar hot water shower. WIFI is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    ...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

30 years of Saving seeds with friends on front lawn.
Michel and Jude in a seed bank they help start in Karnataka state southern India visiting a seed bank in a village and filming for our one hour documentary produced in 2007.
This is a small part of the gardens, what you see as you arrive on the circular driveway.



Host ref number: 366348222219