Looking for motivated helpers, experienced horse person for our farm in the beautiful high country 20 minutes away from Goulburn, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 130 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/02/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey workawayers,
    we have a horse breeding farm in the beautiful high country 20 minutes away from Goulburn. We are a family of 4 with 3 dogs, 5 riding horses and a cat. On our breeding farm we have around 200 horses. Next to the main farm, where we do most of the breeding, we bought a new place this year. Right now we are building fences, installing water pipes and electricity to create new paddocks for the horses.

    We are looking for motivated helpers for our farm. It would be perfect if one of you (when coming as a couple) has some experience with horses but we also need help setting up a new farm. There we would need a physical fit work to help us building fences and planting trees. Because the breeding season is over we focus more on setting up the new place.

    If you have a driver licence you could always use one of our cars to make a trip to Sydney, Canberra or beautiful NSW beaches. We are also very happy to bring to the train station.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Other
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While staying with us you can learn a lot about breeding horses and racehorses. Depending on the season you will maybe see a foal birth or how we brake horses in. Because of the work on our newly bought farm you can learn some handy skills.
    To give you a great experience we will show you the local life in our small town. We will do our very best to give you a great experience. We enjoy our social life and would love to include you in this ;)

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Your tasks would include horse stud associated work e.g. weaning, feeding and cleaning boxes. Besides that, we also need help setting up a new farm where you can help with fencing and planting trees.

    Right now we especially need help on our newly bought farm with planting trees and other handy tasks, don't worry if you don't have much experience with that - we will explain you everything!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own unit on the farm, while we live 3 minutes away just up the road. It's a very modern apartment with a big updated kitchen, a double bed, big laundry including a wash machine and dryer. You also have the option to sleep in a separate room with a single bed but you need to share the kitchen and bathroom with the unit.
    You could eat with us or we could do grocery shopping together and you could cook in the unit. We enjoy eating BBQs and would love to cook some real "aussie" meals for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would love to get you closer to the local life and around the farm, getting you into town with us or go to local events together. If you want to you could use one of our cars and drive to Crookwell (15 minutes), Goulburn (30 minutes ) Sydney (2.5 hrs ) or Canberra (1.5 hours).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 363245385174