Come and help around our family home in Ballinrobe, west of Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2234

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    OUR IDEAL CRITERIA & DATES:
    Preferred visit duration - 3-4 weeks.
    Preferred Workaways (but we are open to persuasion):
    Over the age of 26, from the European Union - if you have a full licence, we can give you access to our car on some evenings/weekends - this will help you enjoy the visit. (However, this is not essential - we are two miles from the nearest small town so the car is handy, but not essential).

    We are a couple (plus dog) who live in the countryside in the west of Ireland.

    Our dog will lie on an adjacent mat and watch you do the work :)

    Our next work (March/April 2020) involves stripping plaster off our family home - we are restoring the old stonework on this home.
    If you have queries, we can talk by Skype or What's App.
    By the way, we will always reply to your messages here, even if we are not in a position to host you. It's good manners and the least you deserve after contacting us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will love this part of the world - scenic west of Ireland.
    We enjoy hosting people from all over the world and take time to get to know you, to educate you about our region and our country, and to suggest trips you might like to take while here.
    Our reviews show that we take time with people and try to be as helpful as we can.

  • Help

    Help

    MARCH/APRIL 2020: Project - We will be stripping plaster off our house so need people with some experience of using a power tool (kango) and a chisel. It's slow work but rewarding as you see the old stone come back to 'life'.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French (medium)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workaways live in our house (double room, suitable for couples or singles) while working here. We will provide dinner and B&B (including bed clothes and pillow) and full access to our home. Use of washing machine and clothes dryer, plus all other facilities in our home.

    Downstairs bathroom shared (primarily shared with our washing machine) - though if we don't have any bookings on a night, the ensuite bathroom upstairs is made available to you.

    Thank you, Liam and Noreen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are over 26, from the EU, and hold a full driver's licence, we will be able to give you access to a car at weekends and put you on our car insurance free of charge.
    There is a huge array of attractions and sights in this region - climb Croagh Patrick, visit Ballycroy National Park, trek in Cong and Clonbur Woods, marvel at the beauty of Ashford Castle, swim in Lough Mask, go horse-racing in Ballinrobe, browse around the beautiful town of Westport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 361411283468