Help out on our lifestyle block in the Hunua Ranges, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 204 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, Martin and I would love you to join us on our life style block. I work from home and Martin works for a building company. We are located in Hunua, South Auckland. In good traffic, we are 40 minutes from Auckland Airport. We breed Highland Cattle and Suffolk Sheep on 80 acres. We also have chickens and a Labrador.
    Our life style block is a very scenic piece of land that has small patches of bush, pine trees, mini water falls, rolling hills and wonderful views out to the Hunua Ranges. It takes 15 minutes (max) to get to the nearest town (Papakura) where there are shops and train/bus links. A shorter drive in the other direction gets you to Hunua Village and the Hunua Ranges where there are walking tracks and a magnificent water fall.


    If you love rural life but enjoy being close to civilization then this is the place for you!

    There is always some sort of "work" that needs attention on a farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you like farming life, then we are happy to share our knowledge/experience with you. There is so much you can learn about Highland Cattle, sheep, chickens and dog care!

    We lamb in August/September. Our Suffolk sheep get shawn once a year, in November or December.

    This year (2020) we will have a few new calves in July/August.

    Hay gets made early January.

  • Help

    Help

    Previous Workawayers that we have hosted have done a fantastic job planting and mulching trees around our property. But as we head into the cooler months (Autumn/Winter ie March - Aug) we will have more of this type of tasks again.

    Tasks that we may need help with in the warmer months (Spring/Summer - ie Sept - Feb) involve weed control and property maintenance.
    Gorse eradication is one such job. This is done by chemical spraying / cut and pasting (with a chemical) or cutting the gorge down with either a hand saw or scrub cutter. This is more a "summer" job.

    There is always on going stock work to do - this varies with the seasons.
    We lamb from mid August to September.
    This year we are calving in July and August (3 calves are due)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    WE GOT OUR HOUSE DEMOLISHED in NOVEMBER 2019 but...we have "guest accommodation" set up in our BIG shed. This consists of x2 beds - a king and a double bed with a curtain and screen as a "room" divider.
    There are x2 chemical toilets outside (one by the shed accommodation and one near the Portacom)
    Martin and I sleep in a Portacom (Portable Building) Next to the Portacom and Big Shed there is a caravan which has a shower. (actually it is more like a dribble but it is has nice hot water to get the dust and dirt off you)

    ***NEWS FLASH*** We now have the most awesome (outside) shower! It is in the carport and is fed by the hose. We now have unlimited shower times with HOT water and excellent pressure!! *****

    We have BBQs for cooking and a "kitchen" in the big shed. And in the BIG carport (beside the big shed) is a washing machine and drier plus a dishwasher! yay!!
    The set up is more in line with "camping" but at a glamorous level (ie Glamping!)


    The "guest accommodation" has been great over summer but we aren't sure what this is going to be like over winter. I'm thinking it is going to be chilly.....we aren't able to heat ALL of the BIG Shed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned we are only 15 minutes from bus and train links and I/we are happy to work in with our guests plans. We can take you to these links or take you on day trips (approx 2 hours radius from home)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs are fine as long as they are chicken and stock proof.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 359286745736