Help to update my rural timber house in Jamtland, Sweden

  • Favourited 28 times
  • Last activity: 19 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    I have a small, timber house north of Östersund in a beautiful region called Jämtland. Famous for having the biggest bear population in Sweden.
    I´m updating my rural cottage. There is electricity and last autumn I had a ecological toilet installed indoors and a sauna near the lake. But the rest looks and functions more or less as it did 1800. This summer I also got temporarily running water via a pump from the lake, yippie! But I´m very interested in keeping the old timber house style. Renovate with care, that means.
    I need help with mostly heavy stuff as I have operated together my biceps for the second time and have problematic legs. That means working with wood, paint for example window shields, walls indoor, clean out clutter from the attic and a small house that will be turned into a creative place like a writing/painting studio.

    The lake close to the house is crystal clear, the air super fresh and you hear your own heartbeat in the silence. We are in the wilderness but not totally away from civilization, there is a small food store and petrol tank 20 kilometers away. :)
    And in that village lives my niece, Anna 22 years old. She is very artistic, hunt together with her father and is a member of the samii community.

    You can catch fish in the lake and then we grill them for dinner if you eat fish. Elk could also be on the menu if you eat that. Traditional bread baking and a goat cheese factory are possible to visit too.
    And there will be separate not renovated timber cottage with kitchen for you in the the "WW-crew". What I need are handy and strong people who have experience of body work before.

    I´m a retired couple therapist but work as a writer and live in Stockholm most of the time. Therapist is my third career, the first one was as journalist, so I´m the curious and openminded type. I have had WW-Workers before.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is not Lappland, but have several samii villages who get a living out of the rain deer. During winter you can meet hundred of deer's crossing over the lake on the ice. Anna are a member of the samii community and can talk about how they live or whatever you want to know. I have also samii roots, so we both are inserted into their life as indigenous people. Don´t remember if there is someone making samii craft, but I will find out.

    I´m good in writing, have done soon three books - two about journalistic writing. The last one is about atacchmentprofiles and the couplerelation. I´m also a good listener.

  • Help

    Help

    At the cottage I need help with for example:
    Making fire wood from stems and logs. There is a machine. (There is an older handy man nearby to ask.)
    Paint new doors. Paint window shutters, walls inside.
    Collect and transport rubbish to the dumpster site.
    Build a simple sitting area of logs close by the lake for barbeque.
    And make a profile on Instagram about the house.
    But also I hope we can make some nice dinners together etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I know some danish but would like to learn more.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the north, it´s a bit primitive. The cottage have two bedrooms and a kitchen. As well as two in the annex guest room.
    Ecological toilet indoor (it burns the shit) and a natural toilet in the annex. Washing outdoor using the sauna or the lake, Viking-style.
    And if you want to sleep outdoor we have a special hammock for that - with mosquito net.
    I have also an old Volvo you can borrow.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the north, it´s an area for fishing, I have both boat and fishing equipment, so don´t worry about that. A boat engine I don´t know how to handle, you can maybe teach me? For trekkers there is a Flower path up one on of the mountains we use for skiing in winter. And local trekkroutes.
    Or if you want to eat bear burgers, is just to drive over to Norway and try them. (It´s not a recommendation...) There are an older couple baking traditional soft bread once a week if you want to learn that and, a diary making cheese of goat and cowmilk. Otherwise it´s just wonderful to relax and listen to the birds.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    In the north your campervan has a place to stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A cat or a dog would be really nice.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 358828382389

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Come to the beautiful Swedish forest surrounded by nature reserves and crystal clear lakes in Karlstad, Sweden
Help me to finish a straw bale house in Norrtälje, Sweden