1 / 5

Help with my environmental project near Kempsey, Australia

  • Favourited 11 times
  • Last activity: 12 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am a 60-something hobby farmer on the beautiful Macleay Valley in Northern New South Wales.
    I have travelled the world, first as a sailor in the Australian navy and subsequently as a backpacker for many years.
    I have several properties but I most need help on my main farm which is situated in Moparrabah. The pristine clear-water Majors Creek runs through my farm. This creek is also known as Parrabel Creek, and Toorumbee Creek !!!
    I am an active environmentalist and evidence of my passion for a natural and sustainable environment is seen in many completed projects throughout the Macleay Valley. For many years I have been the President of the award-winning Macleay Landcare committee.
    Government and commercial organisations regularly hold workshops and information days on my farm to project a sustainable and natural way for farms.
    I have fenced off the creek bank and excluded cattle from accessing the creek. This helps to stabilise the creek banks and stops erosion, which then helps to nourish my pastures with rich alluvial soil during flood events.
    I believe in letting nature do what nature does best.
    There is a seam of limestone on my farm and my ambition this year is to start building a home using limestone as the primary building material. Although I will need some help with this, I mostly need volunteers help with maintaining the creek banks and other environmental activities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn sustainable agriculture practices and be part of an environmental crusade to promote a natural way of land care.
    As a long-term traveller I really enjoy learning from and listening to folk from around the world. Discussion and interaction is so important for global and cultural understanding.
    Likewise, I am happy to share my own experiences and knowledge with visitors.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always so much to do on farms.
    I do not ask volunteers to do anything that they can't or don't want to do. Together we can decide what you are best suited to do.
    Tasks include tree-planting, repairing fences, harvesting pecan nuts for our own consumption, minor building and DIY projects, and some cleaning up of storage and machinery sheds. The list of tasks is endless.
    I want to complete an outdoor fire-pit with seating using natural materials that we can enjoy in the evenings, and I would welcome your ideas to complete this project.
    I'm also thinking of starting an organic vegetable and herb garden for us to enjoy.
    All the tasks I'm listing can be learnt on-site. Prior experience is welcomed, but not necessary.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I am currently completing a 2 bedroom unit that will have 4 beds. There will be a private shower and toilet, a fully stocked kitchen, and clothes washing machine.
    There is a large screened tv in a common area that has access to many movies and documentaries, and local tv channels.
    The traveller accommodation looks out over the farm pastures.
    I will provide food for unrestricted appetites, vegans and vegetarians for you to cook. On Sundays I will prepare a full roast meal for us to enjoy together.
    If you have special dietary requirements, I'll kindly ask that you purchase any special items yourselves as I cannot cater for those with therapeutic dietary needs.
    If you are a cook/chef or just enjoy cooking I would welcome you to conjure up delicious meals for all of us to enjoy together.
    There is internet access in parts of the farm and buildings, but not everywhere.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kempsey is about 30 minutes drive away and is the nearest major centre with train, road and bus links. I will collect you from there if you are using public transport. Willawarrin is the closest village and is about 15 minutes drive away. There is a country pub with many interesting characters, a general store and a sportsground in Willawarrin. There are often activities taking place at the sportsground, community hall, or pub.
    The Macleay Valley boasts pristine beaches and superb natural attractions for you to explore in your time off or afternoons.
    On the farm you can enjoy swimming in the creek, or try your luck fishing for Australian Bass, or trying to spot the elusive platypus.....yes, they are in my creek.
    The farm hosts many kangaroos and wallabies, a huge variety of birdlife, and the creek has many aquatic animals for you to see.
    You could use my canoe to paddle and enjoy the creek.
    If you enjoy nature, you won't be bored.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's plenty of space for you to park your campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 356735285156

Photos

Feedback

Renewable energy adventures by the sea in Arnhem Land, Australia
Come and stay in a museum in Greenough, western Australia