Help with general care of a remote and beautiful organic farm in Genalguacil, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a very remote and beautiful finca in the Genal valley, near the village of Genalguacil. Our plan is to create a sanctuary for study and recovery, while tending the land. Part of the land is forest, part fruit trees and part garden. We are also restoring the old farmhouse and the workshop. The land is off-grid and we have a solar system and compost toilets. We have two dogs and three cats. We have internet available. I am from England, where I worked as a Steiner Kindergarten teacher and Biographical Counsellor. I am studying Biodynamic Agriculture and Bee keeping and our project here is evolving out of Anthroposophy. We would welcome people who are open to longer term commitments, to work with the trees in the forest ~ tree surgeons particularly needed.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers would benefit from living in a very beautiful environment in the forest, using their skills and learning new ones.
    The Genal Valley is thought to be the seventh most bio-diverse place on the planet, so it is an exceptionally lovely place to be.
    The village of Genalguacil is walkable, via a steep donkey track (about 30 minutes) ~ The village has a big art gallery and several bars.

  • Help

    Help

    We hope our travellers will be flexible, creative and committed to hard work to help our planet and each other flourish. We mainly need help working on the land ~ in the garden and with the trees.
    Our priority this year is to help make here a bee sanctuary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation would either be a single room, which is an annexe to the main house, or the upper floor of the main house with a mattress, which may be shared or a tent in the summer. The accommodation is very simple.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a good network of footpaths. There is a daily bus to and from Ronda, leaving the village at 7.30am and leaving Ronda at 1.30pm. I would say that here would suit people who like to live a simple life, deep in nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 663642944736