Spend some time in the northern NSW hinterland rainforest, help with jobs around the home and garden, Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/08/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Are you looking for a peaceful rainforest to escape the busy life from as little as a few days or longer? Come and join us in Northern NSW near Mt Warning, 1 hour inland from Byron Bay, 10 minute drive from the gorgeous town of Uki. We are a family of 4 living off the grid with kids aged 10 and 11. Passionate about regenerating the land we are looking for 1-2 people to help with planting, weeding, collecting wood, creative projects and general maintenance in exchange for accommodation and food. Could suit 2 friends travelling, couple or solo traveller looking for a quiet getaway. It's best if you have your own car as we are quite remote.. 2 kms up a gravel road. Good for nature lovers, hikers, mountain bikers ( we have built some trails on our land), meditation and yoga. You can borrow our kayaks to go to nearby Clarrie Hall dam, lots of rainforest hikes nearby and local markets. Can pick up from Murwillumbah. We eat mostly vegetarian food with some fish so can cater for vegetarians, vegans and occasional meat eaters.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about the local area with lots of wildlife and birds visiting daily. The area is close to rainforest with many bushwalk options. Best if you have your own car to get around as we are quite a way from town. We like to meet new people and share ideas and the kids love to have a chat and learn about other countries.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with landscape maintenance including supporting the natives and keeping the weeds at bay. We also have simple physical work like collecting firewood and general maintenance on the house and garden. We also have creative projects such as building seats from logs and rock paths. There is a lot of active outdoor work here in a remote, peaceful environment.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a private recently renovated caravan with all the amenities of our cabin for your use including outdoor and indoor hot shower! We have access to mobile coverage for phone internet access and heaps of data for guest wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So many things to see in Northern NSW and one hour drive to the Gold coast..beaches rainforest, kayaking, mountain biking, bushwalking and markets nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

The rainforest inspires watercolour painting!
The renovated caravan sleeps 2.

Host ref number: 347716938137