Come and volunteer on a organic family hobby farm in South Australia




Favourited 327 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    We live on a 2 hectare property with the young Angas River running through. We have organic gardens with fruit trees, all sorts of berries, vegetable gardens with free roaming bantams, big layer hens, a Muscovy duck, flower beds, lawns as as two goats on paddocks and a house cat. Our beautiful donkeys unfortunately passed away this year from old age, Sera just 2 weeks ago. We are now contemplating what we will replace the donkeys with and might get soon some tame Alpacas.

    1 of our 4 kids Katharina is still living with us.

    Bernward runs a sustainable architecture and building consultancy business from offices attached to the home. Barbara works at the local hospital.

    We have been accommodating helpers for more than 6 years through various help exchange sites.

    If you want a break from travelling in a family environment and you are open and self-motivated, this is the place for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a German/Australian Family living in Australia for 35 years. You will encounter German and Australian heritage and cuisine.

  • Help


    Thank you for your interest in volunteering.

    We appreciate help, enjoy young people and having an excuse to visit the beautiful and interesting places Adelaide, the hills and the Fleurieu Peninsula in South Australia have to offer with them.

    We are completely booked until end of November this year (unless someone cancels) but still have places available In December and from February 2020.

    Please read through all the text below and only apply if you think this is for you. Ask us early as we have many requests and are not always but often booked quite a bit in advance.

    There is always help needed in garden and paddock: pampering the donkeys, looking after animals, weed control, planting, picking vegetables, berries, plums, apples and more in season, lawn mowing, making firewood, compost, clean up sheds and help in and around the house.

    4 -5 hours easy help plus support in the kitchen is expected.

    No smokers & no highly perfumed body products please. Reasonable English or German speaking / understanding is expected to enable meaningful conversations.

    We prefer longer stays (3 weeks min or more) after an initial "get to know" of a few days. Many helpers stay longer than planned and come back as they like the chance to relax and join a supporting family.

    Try to ask us early as we are often booked out for month..

    Sorry we cannot sign for 2.Visa

    Enjoy your adventure and many great hosts on the way!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation


    We offer 2 bed accommodation in a separate 1 room stone cottage and a own room in our house. We try to give single travelers there own single room but sometimes you will have to share a room. We all share kitchen, lounge room & the home cooked evening meal. (Mixed diet, vegetarians/vegans can be catered for).For breakfast and lunch and cravings in-between you have anytime access to our fridges and pantries and special wishes (unless outrageous:-) can be usually accommodated during the next shopping trip.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 45 min by car from Adelaide in the Adelaide Hills, 45 min from safe swimming beaches and 45 minutes from the surf beach . We think that is pretty central…. We do regular trips to the surrounding beaches and national parks with our helpers. Adelaide is easily accessible via bus. The use of car is available to the right person.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 - 5 hours a day / 5 days a week

Our Helper Tree - growing steadily
Sunset at Port Willunga
Visit to Granit Island with helpers
our goats
Helper with freshly collected strawberries
Koala visit in our garden
Sunset at Port Willunga
Helper at "Deep Creek Conservation Park"
Visit to Second Valley
Excursion with the helpers to Deep Creek
Excursion to the "shell" beach
Helper with newly hatched chicken
Happy helpers at excursions and our bigger animals
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)

Host ref number: 661418939218