Help with our olive harvest in Le Marche

Country

Italy

Favourited 131 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Now that I have retired from the UK I grow olives and fruit in Italy. My family are all in England. We need help with harvesting the olives, etc..

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    I think we need three people to pick the olives, including me. Most of the trees are small, so no ladders are involved. And we need one person to feed us while we are busy; there is a big kitchen where we all eat. Once the olives are picked, assuming there are enough, we take them to the frantoio where they are turned into oil. Then we have to tie up the trees to protect them from the ravages of winter. The weather should be good at harvest-time, which will begin on Monday 2nd November. Anyone who would like to stay on for a bit afterwards is welcome to do so if there is useful work to be done.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    Zulu: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are three double rooms, one with en suite bathroom, plus one other bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many typical hilltop towns and villages in the vicinity and several excellent eateries. We are particularly hoping that each volunteer will have a good sense of humour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Mornings mainly, then the afternoon









Host ref number: 346727817219