Cultural exchange in our London riverside house, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 849 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    65.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired television director and my husband a retired doctor. We've lived a full and happy life, including travelling the world, starting various charities and enjoying seeing our four children and ten Grandchildren grow up around us. In London we live in a large, beautiful house, featured in several magazines and right on the river Thames with a spectacular view of Wren's Royal Naval College opposite. Our house is regularly visited by our large family and many friends. Nearby there is the large and beautiful Mudchute park and farm, which my husband created and continues to help, visited by thousands of children and their families every year

    So what help do we need? We need someone who can drive in the UK and is good at doing practical jobs around the house including some DIY. My husband is getting a bit forgetful and part of the role would involve driving him and helping him with various errands during the day


    We need:
    . Non Smoker
    . Eat anything (no vegetarians please)
    . Speak reasonable English
    . At least 21 years of age.

    May I add excerpts from a delightful and very generous feedback of a recent workaway
    "I was very lucky to be part of this beautiful couple in maybe the best house in London! I learned a lot especially in English from Jenny and every kind of skill with Mike, they are always kind and always happy and its very interesting to speak with them about their exciting lives. I worked every morning , in the majority in the garden but also around the house and after that I was free to visit London and meet some friends. Jenny and Mike know a lot of people and often have some parties....I could discover the delicious food of Mike....wherever you are in the house it is really pleasant to work in front of this magnificent view of the Thames and Greenwich.... If you are looking for travel, to learn some skills or to improve your English, this is the perfect place, I guarantee it!"

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope they will learn about London, British culture and its history. We reckon we are quite good at helping young visitors with their English!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like someone to help with gardening, general tidying of kitchen and help in the house (though there is a cleaning lady) , occasional painting and maintenance and help with entertaining.

    We'd naturally like them to be reasonably domesticated and capable and to enjoy interesting conversations! Also adaptable, helpful to my husband and able to turn their hand to anything and to enjoy being with the children

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A very nice room (with a bathroom mainly for you) that looks at the garden and the river.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are mainly based in London in a very interesting area, 30 mins east from the centre of London, the house being 3 mins from the Docklands Light Railway, After a couple of stops you meet the very fast Jubillee Line which takes you to the centre of London in 30 mins. The house is in its own quiet and beautiful precinct with a large garden and river on two sides of the house. Lots of balconies over the river.

    Through the nearby foot tunnel you can, in 8 minutes, reach Greenwich opposite across the river, with all its history - the Maritime Museum, Royal Observatory,Queen's House, antique shops and and the Cutty Sark sailing clipper , with boats going regularly from a nearby jetty into the centre of town past all the major tourist sites.

    The view from the balcony where we eat in the summer is like being in Venice. The business district of Canary Wharf and the famous O2 area with all its pop concerts etc are both nearby.
    We are informal and very flexible and like our workaway to join in the life of the family. We also assume he or she will make their own friends and have fun in London.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)













Host ref number: 343232266798