Join our family and help with our property in Byfield/Yeppoon Australia

  • Favourited 56 times
  • Last activity: 19 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Come and enjoy the warm weather, rainforests, beaches and greenery in our little slice of paradise here on the Capricorn Coast.

    We are a family of four, my husband, myself and our two daughters (17/1), plus our little dachshund. We are living on a 1 hectare block surrounded by Byfield National Park and set in natural rainforest. We are just 20 minutes away from the coast and the lovely beachside town of Yeppoon, known for it's beaches and coastal vibe.

    My husband, Mark works away for one week at a time but loves getting involved with workawayers when he's home. I used to work as a Dental Assistant in Yeppoon but I'm now on maternity leave. Our oldest daughter is now in University studying in Rockhampton. She is a member of the Surf Life Saving Club in Yeppoon, a DJ at 4RFM community radio, and works at the local general store. She also plays her guitar every now and then and loves socialising with our volunteers.

    The property has a natural creek running through it and heavy rain-forested area. We are looking for workawayers who are happy to work in and around the rainforest and creek, clearing and removing dead and fallen trees/plants, during off green waste, and cleaning up the creek area. Possibility to do an art project and or build something nice down by the creek. (If traveling as a couple there is the possibility to split work with house tasks for one if it's preferred).

    When you are enjoying your free time there is plenty to do around the area, we have two kayaks here for volunteers to use, you can also go swimming in the local creeks and explore the Byfield area. Then you also have the whole of Yeppoon and the rest of the Capricorn coast to enjoy. Plenty of beaches and parks, shops and cafes, and places to just chill and unwind. If you like you can also catch a bus into Rockhampton where there is a free zoo, more parks and gardens plus other attractions.

    In general we like to help our volunteers achieve their goals while travelling and to ensure they have a positive experience staying with our family. You will work hard but enjoy plenty of free time and hopefully leave with wonderful memories and experiences.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share our lives with you so that you can meet our friends, try our cuisine (I am a Filipino and I know a lot of Asian dishes if you like Asian Food), and experience as much of our Aussie life as you can. If you only speak basic English that's okay too, we are happy to help you practice that.
    We will bring you into our family as well as our home, and help you experience life in Australia. Mark and I have volunteered and traveled overseas in different countries in Africa, Europe, South America and Asia so we are well cultured and love to learn and share with others.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The work will not be solely done by the volunteer everyday. This is going to be with my husbands help when he is home on his weeks off and on my days off and some with my daughter as well. There will also be days where there are jobs that need to be done by yourself when we are not around.

    What we are looking for in our volunteer:

    - Able to do some physical gardening clearing of our property. Trimming trees, mowing or weeding. We are opening up a walking trail to our creek at the back of the property.
    - Non-smoker
    - Must be a clean and tidy person
    - Must have self initiative

    This all sounds like a full on job but we would like to assure our future volunteer that this is only for max 5 hours a day. We work hard but play hard as well. We love the beach and go to Yeppoon for walks as much as we can. We have bodyboards and kayaks we use mostly during summer that you can borrow as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Tagalog: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private room to yourself with a queen bed (if couple or friends must share), however the bathroom and toilet is share with us. Meals will be provided and are usually home cooked asian/international flare.
    There is high speed internet in the house for your use but there are limited tv stations here. We have, however, access to Netflix, Disney+, Stan etc.
    We can happily cater for vegetarians/vegans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have miles of beaches here in the Yeppoon Area.
    You can also visit the popular Great Keppel Island which you have to travel by boat.
    Byfield is famous for its natural parks and rainforests.
    Cooberrie Park Wildlife Sanctuary
    The Caves
    Markets in Yeppoon and Emu Park
    and so much more.

    Our closest city is Rockhampton which is only 30 minutes away from Yeppoon and 45 minutes from Byfield.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have Starlink

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for a van and connections for water and a dump point.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Possibility for pets but would need to discuss on a case by case basis.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 341942449243

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Older lady with animal companions welcomes help around the house and garden in Home Hill, Australia
Native tree planting project and DIY on the Sunshine Coast in Mapleton, Australia