updated  

Sunset Serenity: Embrace American and Arab American Culture in SF, USA

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello there, adventurers and travelers!

    Are you…
    ✅ Wishing… to get to know American and Arabic culture?
    ✅ Wanting… to experience living in San Francisco?
    ✅ Willing… to work diligently and assist me in organizing my life?

    I am a friendly and open-minded Palestinian woman residing in the picturesque Sunset District of San Francisco.

    Our location is incredibly convenient, thanks to the ample public transportation options.

    I have a background in activism, human and civil rights, children & women's rights, social justice, and the such.

    Professionally, I am an event planner and entertainment agent. I work from home and have had a home office for many years now.

    I tend to multitask and be a bit in my head when I'm at work (it may be attributed to living in New York for over a decade and owning a small business for more than 25 years) and could use some help with organization. Mostly, I would like help with domestic things, including cleaning, organizing, cooking (only if you like to), getting rid of clutter, helping with scanning, and filing my projects. I also require basic computer and social media assistance (apps and posts). I didn't grow up with computers, and it's challenging to keep up. None of the computer/admin help is related to my business.

    I am most focused in the mornings and would like to create schedules for us to follow so you can plan other activities and know your days off.

    I am looking for mature natured people, who are grounded, self-aware individuals who are interested in having a work-exchange in the comfort and safety of my home in San Francisco.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are Palestinian Americans living in the bay area and love culture exchange, good company sometimes, and quiet times at others.

    We are a fun loving small family that likes to share our Palestinian and American culture with our guests as part of the WW cultural exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks We Welcome Help With:

    Daily Tasks: Help with preparing breakfast, lunch, or dinner a few times a week or more. Assist with basic cleaning, organizing, and sorting tasks around the house.

    Basic Computer Help: Provide occasional assistance with computer-related tasks. I didn't grow up with computers, and sometimes I find it hard to keep up.

    Schedules and Organization:
    I like to be organized and create a schedule that we can go over together, ensuring that we both have a clear idea of our time for the day or week ahead. This allows us to plan for sightseeing or other activities effectively.

    About My Son:
    I have an adorable, kind, and fun 13-year-old son, who lives with his dad mostly at the moment. You may not interact with him at all, but if you do, he is very sweet and welcoming. If you know how to play the piano, he is new to it and loves it! Music, in general, is great, but you need to know how to teach an energetic child. Soccer and fun athletic activity is encouraged. Work awayers are encouraged, as children these days don't get enough outdoor exercise.

    Who We Welcome:
    Individual women are welcome, and I'm open to a wide range of ages. I encourage you to email if you are healthy, high-functioning, drug-free, and in good mental health. Life experience is a plus! I will ask for references.

    Schedule and Duration:
    The schedule will vary but will involve a maximum of 5 hours a day with 2 days off. If it seems like a good match, we should schedule a video call to continue the conversation and discuss things further.

    This is generally a short-term opportunity, spanning 2 to 4 weeks, but for the right match, I would consider extending it to 2 months. If you speak another language, it's a plus!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Arabic: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to re learn French from my high school years and learn Spanish, and am open to other languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation:
    You'll stay in our comfortable home, complete with on-site laundry facilities.

    Whether you choose our cozy 6' x 3' firm foam bed in a small room or opt for some time in my son's room, you'll have a comfortable and private space to call your own.

    My son's room is a medium-sized bedroom with a double bed and large windows that offer views of the yard. We also have a dedicated bathroom for your use, ensuring your comfort and convenience.

    Meals:
    We can share basic groceries. Some meals will be on your own, and some meals we can have together.

    Common Areas:
    Our shared living spaces include a welcoming living room, a cozy dining room, and a well-equipped kitchen where we create delicious meals together.

    House Rules:
    There are house rules we will go over to ensure a smooth stay for us all. For example, I'd like to know when you're going out late and/or not coming home, so I am not worried and do not put the extra lock on the door. Limitations to alcoholic drinks to 1 per day. There are no guests allowed in our home.

    Views and Surroundings:
    Close to our home, you can enjoy breathtaking views of Ocean Beach and Fort Funston. Our house is adorned with happy plants that add a touch of greenery to your surroundings.

    Public Transportation:
    Our location is incredibly convenient, as we're just one block away from the L Taraval Muni line, with other bus lines nearby. You'll find that Stonestown Shopping Mall, Stern Grove, and San Francisco State University (SFSU) are all within easy reach, thanks to the ample public transportation options.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    IN YOUR MESSAGE TO ME
    Please share more about yourself and your professional experience.

    I would also like to have an idea about your lifestyle (stay up late/come in late, drink alcohol regularly, if you're a smoker, have a special diet, have insomnia, or any special needs). Please also share a little about your plans while in San Francisco.

    NEXT STEPS
    There are a variety of things we will discuss after our initial contact by email. I like to have a video call, follow-up calls, and emails to make sure this feels right for us both. We have a trial period during the first 5 days to ensure compatibility. Additionally, I require references.

    After we decide on the details of your stay here, I will ask for your emergency contact information, and ID/passport in addition to references. We want to respect your efforts and time and ours as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have good wifi and a large home with a living and dining room where there are table tops, the internet is stronger at the front of my home vs the bedrooms. I do have an extensor in the back of the house.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I am a newer pet owner and have a small dog who is mostly living elsewhere, need to discuss further

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 712894361695

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Join us in a sustainable way of life on a hilly plot of land in Santa Cruz, California, USA
Volunteer at our non-profit animal rescue in New York, USA