Join our small family in a great part of Victoria, Fernwood, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 198 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    (Disclaimer: I'm not as attentive to this account as I should be though I appreciate it very much. I see I have a 'poor' response rating and an overall rating of %80 likely because of that. I've had this account for several years and have just looked at my feedback for the first time in a long time. I see I got a few reviews. I never think to ask for them! But I think they describe well the general feel of the culture of our home, and that probably all of our workawayers would say similar things. All this to say, if you write and don't hear from me within a few days, can you please write again? The amount of communications we are expected to navigate in the age of technology is a bit hard to manage at times!)

    One thing to note though is I have moved downtown to live with my fiance since the existing reviews were written.

    So let's get to it...

    We are Elinor and Brenden, two counsellors around 40 years of age, with one 14 yr old daughter Gaia and adorable dog Poppy. We live in a lovely heritage house in the centre of Fernwood in beautiful downtown Victoria BC.

    We have hosted about 20 Workaway’s over the last several years! We enjoy this program thoroughly and have made lifelong friendships. We'd love to connect and show you around some but also encourage workawayers to apply who are self-motivated/directed, such that you feel confident in exploring the town on your own and making other friends as well.

    We need help with chores including food shopping, nightly cooking, cleaning and running errands. People (w o m e n specifically, I may get flagged for saying that) who are detail oriented and can cook and clean well and efficiently are most welcome!

    Here you'll have a generous size brand new basement bedroom (ceilings are low).

    A pub and cafes are only a block away and it's an easy walk downtown as well.

    We'd love to have a longer term work away to stay for 3 months or more if it's the right fit. We can give a better trade arrangement for long term, even just 3 hours a day of work.

    We are flexible and laid back, but also motivated to enjoy life and work hard!

    Tell us about you and what you hope to find in a work away host :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help you with English and take you to some beautiful places!

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with chores including food shopping, nightly cooking, cleaning and running errands. Also, spanish practice for our daughter is a bonus.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Indonesian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We're happy to teach English. Gaia loves languages and is currently learning both spanish and french.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The centre of Fernwood and busses that travel around the city, all within a block away. You can borrow a bike if you'd like.
    We have a car for you to use to shop and run errands and use personally on occasion. It's MANUAL so strongly prefer people who can drive manual already.

    Thank you for reading!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good internet connection and space to work from

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 335993852743