Looking for a caring workaway to be a part of a happy family in down town Reykjavík, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    We´re a family of three . We´re looking for a female workaway that would like to come and be a part of our little family for at least 2 months, preferably 3-4 months or more.

    I am a health care professional, working in the daytime. My boys are extremely sweet, if I do say so my self;) My little one is three and my older has recently become a teenager:) He speaks fluent English. I aim at short days at the daycare for the little one, which is difficult to juggle with work, as is taking care of the home by my self. So need help picking my little son up at daycare, as well doing house chores. A drivers licence is a must, for picking up and shopping and running errands.

    We live in a nice apartment right in the city centre, in a quiet street. The two main shopping streets are 5 and 10 minutes walk away, with their cafes, shops and restaurants. Also there is a lovely outdoors pool 5 min. away, with nice warm geothermal water and lovely hot tubs. It´s a rich part of Icelandic culture, sitting in the tubs and chatting to strangers or friends. Transport is easy from here, both for inside Reykjavík and buses to the countryside.

    You will have a spacious and bright room, with good closets and corner windows. You will share the kitchen and living rooms with us. We have good wifi connection.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We´re a lively family and we´d love to share our knowledge about Iceland and give you tips on things to see and enjoy.
    I´ve lived abroad and am an open minded person. I do like things tidy and running smooth in the household, but I like to have a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. I speak fluent English, having lived in Canada and England.

    I really love to be out in the Icelandic countryside my self. We could all go together on shorter rides to see the countryside if you´d like, and perhaps stay a few nights at our little cottage.

    My older son is very mature in many ways, he´s the most wonderful, lovely person, with a good sense of humour and quite philosophically minded:) He does love his computer, but respects (mostly;) my rules regarding using the computer.
    The little one is just the cutest, he is cheerful and has a mild temper. He is a bit shy of new people, we´d just give him time to get to know you and until he´s ready my older would be there if I ask you to take care of him.

  • Help

    Help

    The help would mainly be caring for the home, tidying, cleaning and doing laundry, cooking and cleaning the kitchen. We don´t cook every night, as the boys get a hot meal at school/daycare. But we do sit together most evenings and have a meal and a moment together. Shopping would also be part of the work and running some other errands and some odd stuff as perhaps cleaning the car or ironing once in a while.
    I have one car and would probably ask you to pick up my younger son a couple of times per week.

    There is some minor maintenance that needs to be done around the house. I would like you to be prepared to take part in that, but it´s not for sure we would be doing any during the time you´ll be here. Also, we might get the windows changed during your time, but perhaps later. If we do it would mean some inconvenience but not so much. But just so you know.
    The working hours would be 4-5 hours per day, mainly in the afternoon between 3 and 8 but I would ask you to drive the boys to school/daycare once or twice a week in which cases you would work less in the afternoon in stead. Also, work would mainly be during weekdays, but when your not away on trips or have other plans, I would like to ask you to help on the weekends, helping me get on top of things. In stead we´d cut the hours off other days. If you have plans during a weekend I will of course respect that.
    I´d like you to get the most out of your stay so I´d like to be flexible in general. Having said that, I do very much need the extra help you would be providing.

    We´re looking for a person that is very honest, reliable and warm and would really care for our home, someone who would like to take part in our life and make our every day even better (providing some spare time for me to be able to do some things for my self too;) I don´t mind having an "extra head" too, taking initiative and helping me organise meals and "taking over" the laundry and keeping the house clean without me having to think about those things. Also someone who is independent and will go and have a nice time and get the most out of her stay!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our apartment has 3 bedrooms, living room, dinning room and kitchen. There´s a good garden. It´s a cosy home, and we´d love for the right person to be a part of it:)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It´s easy to enjoy Reykjavík from here, you can walk all around the city centre, go to the harbour and do some whale watching if you like:) Enjoy the food at restaurants, shop etc. There are different museums here in the central area. Icelands largest church, one of Reykjavík´s landmarks is very close by. You can go to the top and see all of the city! And the pools, just wonderful.
    Taking the bus inside Reykjavík is easy from here. Also buses for outside of Reykjavík go from a station which is a 10-15 min. walk away. The Golden circle is popular from Reykjavík and also many other sights close to Reykjavík, I´d love to guide you on finding things to see.
    You could borrow my bike if you like bicycling.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Welcome!
Me and my little one having a laugh
My boys
Hallgrímskirkja, Reykjavíks landmark is close to our place.
Host ref number: 334978167576