Organic homesteading in Sunshine Bay, near Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 290 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    50  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come join us on our beautiful and tranquil homestead in the Kootenays! We love sharing our place with others and invite you to help us here while exploring this stunning part of the world in your spare time.

    We live on a large piece of land surrounded by fields and mountains just 40 minutes outside of the town of Nelson. We're a 5 minute walk to Sunshine Bay Park where you can walk the trails, swim in Kootenay Lake or watch the sunset. Our property includes our timber-frame home, guesthouse, barn/workshop, animal housing and greenhouse. We also have a big organic vegetable garden along with heritage livestock - Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats, Indian Runner ducks and Chantecler chickens.

    Russell is passionate about his organic garden where he grows an abundance of food for us to eat and I am passionate about our animals - livestock and pets - and provide exceptional care for all of them.

    Most of our meals are from food that is homegrown and organic, focusing on lots of veggies!

    We are not travellers and one of the wonderful aspects of having people through the Workaway program come and stay with us is that you bring other countries and cultures to us. We've been fortunate in that many of our Workawayers have stayed for 2 to 5 months when possible and we've developed some wonderful friendships.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can see what it takes to run a homestead and all the work involved in growing and raising your own food. We could also help you work on your English. The other benefits include staying in a stunningly beautiful part of the world that is peaceful, gentle and fun!

  • Help

    Help

    Between March and October, most of our needs involve fencing, weeding, some harvesting of fruit and vegetables, cleaning out the barn and smaller animal houses, painting, weed whacking, house cleaning, wood stacking, cooking, outside house maintenance, etc. - all the necessary tasks of running a homestead. We also occasionally have workawayers housesit for us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the time of year and what's in use, we can offer - a lovely bright room out in the garden with a queen size bed, a trailer with a queen size bed, or a large tent with comfortable sleeping pads and bedding. Volunteers have access to main house for bathing, cooking, conversation and internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus that will take you to and from the town of Nelson. The Nelson area has many fabulous hiking trails and the town itself has great shops and restaurants. There are also markets happening each week in the warmer months as well as the occasional festival in the surrounding area. Ainsworth Hot Springs is 35 minutes from here by car and If you're feeling really brave, there is the Kokanee Mountain Zipline! Nelson also has a great Tourist Information Centre that you can check out while you're here and they will give you all kinds of other suggestions and guidance. And of course, if you just want to have a retreat and spend your time reading and walking, our place can provid that for you as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 per person/week

View from our 'mostly' vegetable garden looking towards the main house
Our garden and the building in the background is a garden shed and bedroom where workawayers can sleep.
View of our pond and animal houses behind with beautiful view of the mountains.
Same garden, different perspective
Our Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats
Siesta time for the lovers
Drying our onions in the garden with cabbage in the foreground
A medley of veggies from the greenhouse
Lettuce anyone?
Sunday breakfast
Lunch.....or a light dinner
Russell's specialty
Eyal making us paella on the fire!
Stella and Barney
Dawn and Russell

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




























Host ref number: 333212393577