Enjoy helping with children and dog in Sherwood Forest, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 260 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    338

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️*️️Prefer Female Workawayer or a couple only please*️️*️️
    WORKAWAYER NEED ASAP as we have room from 26/27th August!!

    We are a family of four - mum, Julie, and three lovely children - two energetic boys ages 9 and 11, and girl aged 7, who have always been home-educated. We have quite a varied routine trying to balance days at home with fun days out, according to everyone's needs and wishes. Mum is trying to run her own business so an extra pair of hands around the house would be amazing!

    We live in a nice, quiet little village on the edge of Sherwood Forest. It has a train station with trains every hour to the city of Nottingham.

    PLEASE NOTE*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ our household can be a busy and chaotic one. There will be plenty of opportunity for you to have your own time and you will have your own space to retreat to when it is time off, but please do not come if you do not enjoy a bit of chaos! We will make you feel very welcome and it is very important to me that you feel part of the family while you are here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think we are a fun and friendly family with many interests. We don't quite follow a normal routine (what is "normal" anyway?!). You would have the option to accompany us on the many educational outings that we do out and about, for example going to museums, train trips, family visits, rambles, shopping trips, looking at old buildings or just sitting in the pub with Grandpa!

    We are very close to the ancestral home of the poet Lord Byron (within walking distance) and there are many great places to visit locally - Sherwood Forest, Nottingham, The Peak District, Derby....

    I have travelled a lot in my life having studied languages myself. I understand what it is like to be in a foreign country and in someone else's home (I was an au pair in Italy in my twenties and it was by far the BEST way of learning a language being with small children)

  • Help

    Help

    An extra pair of hands around the house is needed - whether it be for entertaining one or two of the kids while I do something with the other one or talking them a walk while I catch up on phone calls in the house. Cultural exchange is also invaluable. I would love the children to learn some other European languages from native speakers too. (I did a language degree but am rather rusty now!)

    But anyone who is good at crafts and would like to do that kind of thing with the kids would be nice. Or just someone to do fun things with them like play in the garden with them, go to park etc. Some babysitting would be invaluable also - if the five hours was done in the evening then of course there would be no hours during the day - it would all balance out.

    And the children do go to their dads house one full day in the week so you would have an extra free day in the week (Maybe do those 4 or 5 hours one evening or at weekend....?). It's nothing too strenuous or strict - I am pretty laid back and flexible - just having another person in a busy house would make so much difference to my sanity! Share the load a bit. Thanks :)

    We have a lovely dog too - so walking him/or dog-sitting when we have a busy day could be useful too! I may occasionally need help at the weekends when I may have to work or go out. Many thanks :)

    Travel to our house:
    If you are flying to East Midlands Airport you can easily reach our home by public transport. Or fly to London and then get a bus or train to Nottingham. More detailed travel info when you are definitely coming :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, German (But will only speak english to you if you're learning)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with single bed to yourself. You will share the family bathroom (if you are coming as a pair one will have to sleep on a mattress in same room)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are plenty of opportunities for interesting cultural experiences in and around the area. Nottingham is 20 mins away by train. And there are many lovely walks in Nature close by. Trains and buses serve the village at regular intervals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 328392532986

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more