Stay in Northern Ireland in County Antrim and help with our garden and light maintenance

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 255 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    74  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    253

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I retired from a life in the art gallery/interior design business a few years ago while my wife very recently ended her career as on occupational therapist in the health service. Our two children now live in Scotland so we have a large house to ourselves and three cats.

    We have an 18th century house that we have modernised and sits in 2 acres of garden including grassland, pond and vegetable patch. Oh! and a piste for playing petanque (boules). The house is in the country, outside the small County Antrim village of Aghalee close to the eastern shores of Lough Neagh, the largest inland body of water in Britain and Ireland.

    From our local village there is a bus service to Lisburn (10 miles and Belfast 20 miles). Moira train station (5 miles away) is on the main line from Belfast to Dublin which is about 100 miles away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am active on the traditional Irish music scene which is very lively in the area, playing the bodhran, the Irish traditional drum. Musicians in our local session include people who have performed on the international stage. There are regular local pub sessions and every night of the week there is music to be had in Belfast.

  • Help

    Help

    A few years ago we converted a field to the rear of our house into a garden. It requires continual maintenance and we are always wanting to add new features, plants and shrubs. Apart from helping me, as I am wanting to spend as much time as possible in the garden, suggestions and creative ideas will always be welcome for volunteers to leave their mark! The house also needs maintenance which will be light work like painting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a bedroom with both a double and single bed. You will have use of the main bathroom with shower and bath.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nothing is too far away in Northern Ireland from the Mourne Mountains in County Down (45 minutes) to the Giants Causeway (just over an hour). We are always open to acting, whenever possible, as tourist guides and show guests our lovely countryside. Locally we have walks by Lough Neagh and along the, now disused, Lagan Canal. Just down the road is the RSPB bird reserve at Portmore Lough. Recent birds seen include Buzzard, Hen Harrier and Marsh Harrier, Tree Sparrow, Great Crested Grebe, Golden Plover and many duck species.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day and 5 days per week.

Zuzana and Monika at the Giant's Causeway
Azure and Izia
Lucy with artist Neil
Tea break by the garden pond. Tiphaine from France.
Ulrike and Ron enjoying the national drink!
Olivia at the Giant's Causeway
Greta at Ballintoy Harbour, Pike Harbour of the Iron Islands in Game of Thrones
Sara sitting in the Lord Mayor's chair in Belfast City Hall
Benoit cutting open the haggis at our Burns Night Supper celebrating the poetry of the Scottish national bard.
Xavi and Sònia planting in an enlarged border.
Mark and Janet at Castle Ward on a day trip round Strangford Lough
Mandy
Chris
This is the barn to the rear of our house

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












































Host ref number: 319768477452