Holistic Yoga farm and Food Forest looking for volunteers in Canoa, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

updated  

Favourited 962 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    460

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    SPECIAL URGENT REQUEST : We are currently looking for volunteers who could also TEACH YOGA to our other volunteers. Let us know if you are interested in both volunteering and the yoga teacher position and we'll send you more info on that since there's a special deal for our yoga teachers.

    AND ANOTHER REQUEST: We are actively looking for someone with experience in PERMACULTURE in order to set up a garden and better our practices towards the permaculture principes.

    WE ARE ALSO :
    Looking for adventurous people, yoga lovers, farmstayers; people who wants to harvest fresh produces, learn about wild edible plants, catch chickens, play with the dogs and reconnect with nature!

    Building a Food Forest and trying to expand our tourism activities through Yoga and nature experiences , we are a canadian family Soa, Simon, Miali, our 6 year old jungle daughter and baby Luana. We want to combine healthy living and farm work. We need help to reach that goal.

    We live only 15km from the beach town Canoa on the coast of the Pacific Ocean.

    We speak French, English and Spanish on the farm.

    You can take free spanish classes with Miali at any time you want (also called babysitting!).

    We are specifically looking for longterm couples or pairs of friends who would stay at least 1 month or more. There is much to learn and it takes time to accustom oneself and become the asset the farm needs.

    If you’re an artist, gardener, love construction, know farm animals or have any special skills to share, we would love to hear about it. If you want to learn about all of those projects, you are also welcome here. We have lots of trees to plant, seeds to sow, lots of farm care to do (pruning trees, develping permaculture projects and more).

    We need help in the mornings 8:30AM to 1PM and you would have the entire afternoon free to relax in a hammock, take a walk on the farm with the dogs, go to town or start your own workshop. We have four horses, four dogs, one cat a bunch of chickens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Beside our beautiful location and kick-ass personalities, we don't pretend to know anything about anything. What we offer is an alternative way of living your life, in body and mind. We personally learn everyday about agriculture, water system and animal care in Ecuador! Life is never boring! And we believe, as forever students of the world, that you can teach us as much as we can. So, please, come share your knowledge with us!

  • Help

    Help

    Three years post-earthquake, we can almost touch our dream: offering our guest a unique experience which aims to reconnect their physical and spiritual selves through yoga, nature, animals and healthy food; to harvest themselves!
    In the course of our first years on the farm, we have planted more than 900 trees and plants, with the principal aim of creating a food forest for humans, animals, bees and insects alike. We want not only to continue this project but to extend it to a full reforestation endeavor.

    We have been struggling with time and resources from the beginning, being parents to a daughter of 6 years old and the new baby girl. The fact that our oldest is now going to school, only makes it harder to really kickstart our great project.
    We are so very close and yet, giant steps are needed to reach our goals.

    That’s where you come in.

    We are looking for a specifically dedicated breed of collaborators. We are in need of a few extra miles, of independent and proactive people, who are looking to make their mark somewhere in the world, to literally take our inspiring idea and making it a fabulous reality during the course of their stay.
    We are looking for a couple or 2 friends who would stay at least 1 month (more is better!) Sometimes, you will be ALL BY YOURSELF at the farm, do the things you never got to do in the busy city life, like read an entire book or meditate or draw a mandala.

    We will have a strict but fair schedule for you with a long list of personal projects ideas.

    Here’s a few tasks:

    Help with the yoga and farming retreats (cleaning, food, activity set up)

    Taking care of the animals (Horses, chicken, dogs)

    General cleaning

    Reforestation

    Food forest care

    Community tasks

    Farm managing (when we are not there)

    Agriculture (weeding/machete, tree pruning, harvesting)

    Construction

    Revitalisation and care of the garden

    Beautification of the farm (flower planting, murals, paintings)

    Trail marking

    We kindly ask a voluntary and optional contribution of 7$/day to maintain the reforestation project which is the hearth of our mission.
    This INCLUDES 2-3 yoga classes per week and a well-rounded food basket : oats, panela, rice or quinoa, dried beans, spices oil and eggs restocked every week.

    We planted many seasonal fruits trees like bananas, papayas, lemons, mandarines, guavas, guayavas, mango, cacao, plantains and native tomatoes. We also grow sweet potatoes, yuca, pumpkin and hot pepper. Feel free to ask which seasonal fruits are available!

    The reforestation is also the main activity demanded from our volunteers; teaching them the process from sowing seeds to planting the trees, paired with care of the gardens and making art. That is why most of our volunteers are attracted to the farm.

    We have a very soft schedule of 3-4 hours a day because we have been overworked workawayers ourselves and want to make sure our volunteers enjoy our beautiful farm, not just work.

    Here it is!

    We are not looking for volunteers, we are looking to add new members to our family.

    We are not offering a workaway experience, we are offering a second home!

    And we will treat you as such!

    Hope this is something your are looking for.

    Talk to you soon!

    Simon, Soa, Miali and Luana

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Everything is hand-build, mostly with recycled material, from the houses, to the furniture to our yoga terrace. The housing is rustic but built with love. You will be in a shared room in the Yoga Shala. We provide sheets, mosquito net and drinkable water. We have offer a communal kitchen for you to cook. You can eat fruits and vegetables available on the farm as much as you want.
    We try to have as much sustainable practices as possible. Our (handmade) bathroom is a compost toilet. We have a shared shower. The water system comes from a well in the forest and rain collection. We don’t waste any food as any leftovers goes either to the chicken (or the dogs if there fast enough!) or to the compost pit. The soap, shampoo and toothpaste we use are biodegradable.
    It all takes an extra effort to be in harmony with the land but it is very much worth it.

    There is plenty of space to chill and relax; we have a large yoga terrace and hammocks everywhere around the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of activities can be done around the farm, besides chilling and being artsy. Countless walks can be done on the land and around it. The views are diverse and outstanding on the farm as well as nearby.

    We offer homemade local and organic vegetarian meals for 3-4$/each.
    We organize horse tours at 25$/tour/pers.
    We offer extra Yoga classes for 6$/hour.
    Additional tours are available on season, like a Local brewery tour, Surf classes or spanish classes at the beach.

    Canoa is the nearest beachtown at 15 km but there is also a few small fishing village nearby.

    As far as transportation goes, to get to Canoa there is a few direct buses from Quito, Guayaquil or Manta. We can help you out with the information by email.
    When you get to Canoa, you have a few options but the best, in our opinion, is to take a 7-8$ taxi to our farm from Canoa.
    We also often use a taxi for food runs; we can always make the best of both a share the ride.
    Otherwise, you'd have to walk 4 kms from the bus stop. But if you are up to it, there is buses every 15 minutes to the entrance of Tabuchila. Then, you just walk into town asking around for the gringo farm! Its gotta be an hour walk (Don't do it at midday).
    However way you come, we would be communicating and assist your arrival.
    You can call us at the farm 05 3020 348 but we have NO CELLPHONE COVERAGE AND NO INTERNET as we try to be as away from technology as possible!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 319361722745