Help in our garden using permaculture principals in Ulladulla, NSW, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 32 times
  • Last activity: 18 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Our most recent guest has been with us since january and is staying on til end of June. Our exchange has been some daily chicken and duck feeding chores, plus roughly a day of work per week. We hope to have
    longer term experiences like this again. We have availability from end of June. A longer stay will be negotiated after an initial stay.

    Our family home is nestled in seclusion on 1/4 acre in the heart of town with Australian birds & wild life a plenty, a creek & bush reserve. Our garden consists of fruit trees, Bush Tucker, herbs, veggies, worms, bees, chooks & ducks. Must love animals and have no allergies as we have indoor cats and our friendly Labrador, Dex. We accept workers in a gift economy sense. Give freely, receive freely. Share the load in our garden in exchange for accommodation & sharing knowledge and experiences. We are open to independant long stays.

    We follow permaculture methods because we are passionate about self-reliance & future steading. We love growing, cooking, preserving, fermenting, medicine -making & brewing our home-grown & local produce. We have many permaculture systems in place & can show how these self-sufficient principles work in a 'normal' aussie house block in suburbia.

    Other hobbies include weaving, bushwalking, surfing, music, craft and yoga.

    Keith is Canadian (we met while he was backpacking in Oz in '89), Nicole is of Italian heritage. We have 3 grown children & 2 beautiful baby grand daughters who live around the corner & visit often. We are short walking distance (10mins) to Mollymook beach, Harbour & shops & a few minutes drive to Milton.

    We prefer a week stay to start, work is gardening 2-3 hours a day (weekends off) leaving you plenty of time to explore the beautiful south coast. Theres also the option of time learning kitchen practices like permaculture practices, fermenting, canning & pickling, growing mushrooms, weaving, Herbal medicine & sharing wisdom. Nicole also runs community workshops.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Gardening, composting, humanure, beekeeping, worm-farming, fertigation, greywater, making seaweed fertiliser, wicking beds, driveway gardening, outdoor & indoor mushroom cultivation, food preserving, herbal medicine, home brewing. Daily rkitchen and garden rituals and practices in a self reliant homestead, preserving through the seasons.

  • Help


    Work includes general tending of garden, animal care, making compost, mulching, digging, weeding, herb & food preserving.... in flow with the day, season & moment. We prefer someone with some gardening experience & able to work is independently.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Accomodation for 1 or 2 in 'The Cottage', a private, self-contained 'tiny house' in our garden, with a Double bed, hot outdoor shower, composting toilet & camp kitchen with fridge, hotplate, convection/ grill/microwave. Some shared meals, mixed diet. Length of stay to be negotiated prefer 1-2 weeks. Long term by negotiation after initial stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Surfing beaches, bushwalking, town, shops, cafes all walking or cycling distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 733987914997



Language exchange, garden and house help in New Norfolk, Tasmania, Australia
Life experience with our horses in Tasmania