Explore beautiful Vancouver, Canada with lots to see and do, and nature at your doorstep.

Country

Canada

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live in a family house in Vancouver, BC, Canada. We have been married for 54 years, are still active, my husband working at his electrical business and me doing a lot of volunteer work for our church. We are busy people, never having enough time for the projects we would like to do around the house.
    I like to cook, but sometimes would love help doing this when I get busy.
    We are friendly, welcoming people and have travelled all over North America and Europe.
    Hobbies are gardening, travel, reading and cooking. We have a small RV which is parked in the back, and we occasionally travel locally and throughout the USA.
    We have a friendly dog, Charlie - a medium doodle (poodle/retriever mix) 1 1/2 years old. The house is on a quiet residential street.
    Our daughter and grandson (age 19 - working full-time) live in a separate suite in the house and have 2 cats. They interact with us and one of the cats spends most of his time in our space.
    Our house is 25 minutes' bus ride to the city centre, and 1 1/2 blocks to the bus line.
    We have a separate single guest room which a workaway person would have. One person only as the room is smaller. The bed is very comfortable, and the room includes a TV.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The City of Vancouver is a multi-culteral place, with lots to see and do. It is on the Pacific Ocean, with mountains, ocean and rivers surrounding the city, and beautiful parks and outdoor spaces. Wildlife is plentiful even in the City (coyotes, racoons, skunks, birds), and we have a world-class aquarium. As Vancouver is on the doorstep of a huge wilderness, other animals like bears and mountain lions are seen regularly in the north part of Vancouver near the mountains.
    It is a diversified city, with many different cultures, food and festivals.
    Outdoor activities are popular, with bike trails, great transit, passenger ferries, and subway lines. We have a bike which we would be willing for the workaway to use.
    We are near swimming pools (indoor) and a university, and also near walking trails along the river which can be reached by walking (20 - 30 minutes) or transit.
    While I prefer the workaway to be able to speak English well enough to be understood, I have been an English tutor, so would be willing to help improve existing English skills. I know the City well and can help plan outings.
    Winters here are temperate, with little snow, but lots of rain during the winter months. Skiing/snowboarding is available from November to April just north of the City and can be reached by transit in 45 minutes to an hour. Summers (from June to September) are generally warm and sunny. As I write this, in July - the weather is sunny and averaging 26C.

  • Help

    Help

    In the spring, summer and fall, help is needed in the garden - weeding and lawn care, watering deck plants, yard clean-up, etc.
    Grocery shopping with me, putting stuff away, cleaning fridge and stove would help.
    House work with cleaning, projects (cupboard dekludge and cleaning, window washing, deep-cleaning of spaces, carpets) laundry and so on. Our garage needs to be cleaned out, with stuff taken to the recycling. Our deck needs pressure washing and cleaning of surfaces, railings, overhand ceiling. This sort of work.
    Help is sometimes needed with dog Charlie - sometimes walking him or taking him to the dog park when I am involved in my volunteer work.
    Sometimes it would be great to have the workaway cook something for us for dinner when we are busy. We love good, fresh and natural food, and salads. My husband was born in Germany so loves this kind of food.
    My daughter is a fabulous cook and sometimes cooks for us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - some German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bright, single room with comfortable single bed, dresser and closet, nice artwork and TV. Food provided. Sometimes I will cook a big batch of stew, soup or chili, etc. which the workaway would be welcome to share, but generally workaway to prepare own meals. We have 1 1/2 bathrooms - so main bathroom is shared with my husband and myself. As we enjoy meat, a vegan or vegetarian might find it difficult to coordinate cooking but I leave this up to the workaway to decide.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be spent exploring the city, sightseeing (lots to see and do), biking, walking or just relaxing. We are willing to share our back deck during the warm months when it is available - plants, flowers, fountain, etc. There are many events and festivals in and around the City - just go on-line and you can get an idea of what's available.
    I work at home generally, and when we are not doing volunteer work at our church, we like to cook, relax in the front yard or on the deck with a glass of wine, read and watch a little TV. In the summer we take RV trips (with our dog and sometimes our grandson) to nearby lakes and parks for 3 or 4 days at a time. Once a year, we do a longer trip south to the USA and are gone for 6 weeks or so.
    Our neighborhood is a family one, quiet and neighbors would expect that we are also. Although we are very social and would love to talk with the workaway to share experiences, we do like our privacy sometimes, and would freely communicate when we wish to be private. The workaway can either be out exploring in the evening or can relax on the deck (in summer) or watch TV or read in their room.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 773728415197