Country property with horses, podencos, cats and chickens in Latvia

Country

Latvia

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have 6 barefoot endurance horses (2 are now learning carriage driving), 5 spanish podenco dogs, 2 cats and 3 chickens. I enjoy doing the work with them myself but I need someone to give me a hand renovating and doing jobs outside if a job is easier with 2 pairs of hands. Or do things that I just don’t get time for like fruit picking, strimming, staining fences etc etc. No set hours, I don’t mind if someone has their own online job they need to do or their own hobbies they want to go off and do (I’d much rather that then people who just sit around playing on their phones).

    Ideally I’d like someone who is capable of taking care of the animals if I need to go away. Ideally I’d like someone who enjoys cooking because I love eating but really hate cooking (mostly because I don’t really have time to prioritise cooking.

    I also need someone who is confident enough around horses to be able to come carriage driving with me because it’s considered unsafe to do it alone and both myself and my horses are learning. I plan to do combined driving competitions in the future so really need to be able to practice regularly.

    *** MUST be a genuine animal lover and confident around animals in general. ***

    *** References from past workaway positions required as I have had bad experiences with Help-X people who have sounded wonderful and but in real life they were completely opposite to what they said 🙈. ***

    Basically I’d like someone who is active and keen to actually be here and appreciate the place and the animals. Happy to cook, come out driving with me, potter around doing other bits and jobs and give me a hand with stuff if I need it. Might suit a couple or pair of friends so you have motivation to do things and do stuff in the local area when I’m busy (I work online).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Latvia is amazing for sport and leisure activities and latvians are super friendly!

  • Help

    Help

    4 hours per day
    - cooking main meal
    - odd jobs around property
    - assistance with carriage driving
    - sole charge of animals if I need to go away

    Opportunity to do eco projects like vegetable patch, composting, fruit picking (and whatever you want to do with the fruit) if you are so inclined. Not counted as working hours, just your own project if you want.

    Opportunity to ride if you are genuinely a good rider. I don’t have time to teach someone to ride and my horses aren’t suitable for novice riders or beginners. Riding doesn’t count towards working hours.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment you will share my house, kitchen, bathroom etc but I have a wooden cottage I need to fit out which will be one of our first projects.

    Property has a Russian black sauna (that I’ve never used but you are welcome to) and a swimming pond.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local area is amazing for riding, hiking, cycling, swimming in lakes, cross country skiing, fishing, mushroom picking, woodland foraging, etc etc etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have internet connection that is good enough for streaming Netflix etc but this is a country property and so the internet is mobile router based rather than cable.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space for own camper or caravan and welcome to improve the space by creating a fenced garden area, hard standing etc.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 6 days a week

Host ref number: 317638174745