1 / 5

Stay with a young international family near Heidelberg, Germany

  • Germany
  • Favourited 29 times
  • Last activity: 19 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi everyone, you are kindly invited to come and live with us and explore the beautiful Heidelberg region.

    We live in the center of a suburb of Heidelberg in two cozy apartments (one is for guests and home office) with a large garden. It is a newly built house with all the luxuries that you need or don't ;). Our garden has a little playground, lots of rasperries, grapes and delicious currants. There is all you need very close, from supermarket to train station. We really enjoy that we can do everything without a car here. Also, the forest is 5 minutes away (though uphill ;)) and is perfect for long walks or more exciting mountain bike tours. You can borrow our bikes of course!

    Heidelberg can be reached in 10 minutes by bike and is a very scenic International city with a historic castle and nice parks by the river Neckar.

    We are a young german-chilean couple with a daughter born in October 2018. We both traveled the world - we met hiking in Chile - but now settled with our daughter. My partner works as a software application specialist mostly at home. He loves to explore the hills by bike and is the cook of the family. He can certainly teach some Spanish :).

    I am a medical physicist and love to travel, good books and horses, animals in general really. I create lovely cakes and sweets.

    Our daughter is a very loving, positive and active child. She goes to a forest Kindergarten and we go outside at every weather! She just startet speaking Spanish and we are super proud of that :) You will hear both German and Spanish at home.

    We both enjoyed cultural exchange abroad when we were young and want to give back the amazing opportunity to get to know new places in such a direct way and meet new people and get to know their way of life and way of thinking.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can immerse in German culture, practice the German and Spanish language. Also you have beautiful hills and forest nearby while having direct access to lively Heidelberg city.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    It would be lovely if you could speak Spanish (or English) with our daughter and play with her. Other children are very welcome! Also, help picking or bringing her to Kindergarten is appreciated. We both have responsibilities at work and hope to share daily tasks like cooking, putting toys away and laundry folding so we have more time together and with our guests. In summer, there are plenty of tasks in the garden, you can be creative here.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have a separate apartment for guests and homeoffice. It is on the second floor of the house and it has a beautiful view of the mountains. It is very spacious and modern and has its own bathroom. Note that the apartment will be used as home office from 8.30 am to 5 pm on weekdays.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 316656984669

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help out with our kids and explore Dillingen, Germany
Join our animal liberation and vegan sanctuary in Brandenburg, Germany