updated  

Find lots of nature and space for you and your energy, Söhrewald, Germany

  • Germany
  • Favourited 80 times
  • Last activity: 25/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: for winterly February and March help inside, with cooking, childcare etc. is most needed

    We are a family-like group of five living in a beautiful, big place. In addition we have up to three people living in and around the house with us. There are two "tiny houses" and one cabin on our ground. The place is located peacefully 300 yards off the village right at the edge of the woods, surrounded by 6000m2 of property ground. We (try to) grow vegetables, do keep hens and cats while always having some minor or major to build, renovate or create in the house and outside. There are two children: Jette, five, and Enno, three, the younger one is what you call a "slow developer" and has some lovely nurses caring for him.

    We like to make our home feel like being on holiday. But in our rare "free time" we love to experience and explore nature, play with the kids, excercise, are creative or renovate/build something in and around the house. The woods are vast and you can walk for hours. We love to have people around and friends on visit. So here's always something going on.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Marieke is actually a wilderness educator at heart but she earns money being an English and biology teacher. She has also worked as a baker and pastry cook for some time. Anders knows a lot of our local plants and mushrooms, but he could also teach you how to play the piano. We are both self-trained in several DIY and arty fields like sewing or painting, we have equipment for pottery, enamel, a library and of course a big and well-equipped workshop.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    For fall and winter we would very much appreciate your help in chopping wood, moving logs, trimming trees etc. on the ground. The garden beds will need to be cared for too. In the cabin a chimney is built, so we can have a oven there soon.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to advance my French and Spanish, I am a professional English teacher and have experience in teaching German as a second lanuguage.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the main house we have a generous guest room with a double bed, a big sofa and a desk. Next to it there is a simple but private bathroom and also a sauna. The room is on the ground floor, while all other shared rooms are above, so it’s very private if you want it to be. The large kitchen for everyone is up the stairs on the same floor as the living room and the library. There is a small garden cabin with a lovely alcove to sleep in and a veranda in the garden. At least one of the tiny houses is free for your stay at the moment.
    We receive our groceries mainly from a local organic farm delivery and like to cook freshly, if time allows. We don't eat meat. We take turns in preparing meals and clearing the kitchen afterwards and love to have a big table full of hungry people.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We both work (homeoffice as well as real office) and the children are in childcare during the week. Public transport to Kassel exists, but it is rare and slow. We have bikes, pedelecs and cars for closer and further exploration and for your use as well. Kassel offers some cultural attraction as does Melsungen a smaller town nearby offering ice cream parlors and a weekly market. Groceries are available some kilometers away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Living in nature has so many benefits and some, well...difficulties. Usually we have a stable Wifi connection but still waiting for glass fiber. So one out of thirty days there can be a day of bad internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Normal sized caravans have been parked and accommodated here.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs are very welcome to scare off the fox and racoon but should not kill cats or hens itself!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 477737878677

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Bubbly and lively family in the small town Wolpertshausen in South Germany looking for some help
Join our family and help with babysitting and cooking near Dresden, Germany