Help in my home and garden and be close to Auckland City centre, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 231 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My three children have now grown up, with one now home from New York, another back from Vienna and one moved to Melbourne. They have been workaways in their time, so thought I could now repay a little by hosting others. I have international students staying in my home at varying times, and some informal workaways too, so I am familiar with different cultures. Sadly I only speak English with just a smattering of words in other languages. I am originally from England, arriving in NZ with a back-pack but have now lived in NZ for longer. My home is a quiet and comfortable space to spend time in (I think so anyway!)

    The work will not be the most exciting available on the website but it is also not hard - mostly cleaning in the house and weeding in the garden. Approx 4 hours per day work, 5x days per week, but flexible around this too. The room I usually have available has a double bed, (so friends would need to share). The positive is that we are a short bus ride into Auckland city centre, the train station is a 12 minute walk away, a stunning view of Mt Eden from the lounge room and Eden Park rugby stadium is just down the road. The Airport bus also stops nearby, so it could be a good place to start or finish your NZ trip.
    (Sadly our dear old black and white cat pictured died in 2018 but we have a very active young tabby cat now!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve your English language skills. Knowledge of travelling in New Zealand and places of interest to visit around Auckland. Some limited knowledge of Maori culture.

  • Help

    Help

    General weeding and tidying up in the garden. Mowing the grass. Cooking the evening meal. Any tidying up and cleaning in the house (there is always something needing to be done). Small painting projects in the house.
    Prefer requests are not made too far in advance - thank you :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room. Double or single bed depending on which bedroom is available, so sometimes I cannot accommodate 2 people, sorry!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is in a leafy, quiet suburb very close to public transport to the city centre. Easy access to walk to the top of Mt Eden for 360` views of the city, shopping mall nearby, cafes, bus and train nearby and just ask me about other activities and places to go. Happy to help.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day, 5 days per week or equivalent

Mt Eden from the lounge.
The deck
The art tree in front of the house.
Sky Tower from the lounge window
The back garden
Minnie, waiting for attention!
The sunny lounge room
The bedroom











Host ref number: 299719957722