Get a break in the countryside near Ulm in the wonderful South of Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 294 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly couple (with 3 grown up daughters) with two cats, Jasmin and Thomas, living at wonderful countryside South of Germany half between Stuttgart and Munich, a little quiet village 15 km away from next city called Ulm. Thomas is a Maths and Sports teacher, Jasmin is working as a Doula and head office in a womens refuge. In our freetime we like working around the house, Nordic walking, travelling (we also have a house in Sweden), or just hanging out and visiting/meeting friends/family.

    Our home is clean, safe and quiet and we think a happy place to be.
    We speak English, bit French and Swedish.
    We are close the borders of France (2 hrs), Switzerland (2,5hrs), Austria (2hrs), Italy (5hrs)....

    We also travelled as workawayers around the globe, so we know what is most important to feel comfortable and to enjoy a travel as a workawayer.
    We only expect you to help us max. 3 hours a day (5 days/week, 2 days off), of course flexible and managable - depending on your skills and travel plans. For example if you want to make day-trips, you can work a little longer and then take a day off the other day. You are travelling, so we think it is important to enjoy it without stress!
    We prefer travellers for short stays (2 days up to one week), but if we get along well of course it is no problem to extend your stay if you like and if it fits with our plans. Sometimes, for example we don't have spare rooms because of our daughters showing up and staying for a few days.
    We also prefer independent people who know how to entertain themselves, because we always have our own stuff to do (but of course we will give you all the tips and ideas about our area if you need help:-)).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about the culture and people of South Germany and delicious swabian dishes.
    The unique Swabian Alb biosphere reserve is a beautiful area with forrests, lakes to swim in, nice little and bigger towns to stroll around with typical German beergardens and nightlife if you like. Munich is 2,5 hrs, Stuttgart 1,5 hrs away by train. There are always special and affortable offers and deals for the trains and busses.
    Beautiful Lake Constance is only about 1hr away by train. You can also easily get to Berlin (6hrs), Hamburg, a.s.o....
    Jasmin works in Ulm, so you can easily get a ride back and to Ulm now and then. So if you want to go to Ulm, there is another host or travel plans, you even might get a free ride!
    And: if you also want to improve your German language skills, here you go!

  • Help

    Help

    Now in September we need help with painting jobs!
    Most of the help will be not too difficult, there are always little chores to do around and in the house. No special skills needed!
    For example gardening (always weed needs to be pulled, grass and tree cutting...), preparing fire wood (if you like physical work), cleaning (windows, kitchen etc), painting, building, and many more little jobs here and there. We always have things to do for everyones favourite kind of work!
    Priorities now are:
    Painting outside walls, gardening, cleaning/renovating garden.
    Other things are:
    Household/cleaning chores like: cleaning kitchen cupboards in- and outside, clean up storerooms, create a mosaik wall with broken tiles (I dont know how, but if you are experienced with that you are welcome to do that!)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our comfortable house, surrounded by garden and lots of nature, has got 3 bedrooms, living room and kitchen, as well as two bathrooms (which you have to share with us).
    You will have your own bedroom with 1,60 mtr bed for singles and couples and carpet in the first floor. If needed we can provide an extra matrace in the same room for friends/couples.
    Food and ingredients of course fully provided for breakfast, lunch, dinner.
    We are happy to share one daily prepared warm meal (usually dinner) with you. We never have fix times for this, but most of the time we cook for dinner. Breakfast and for example sandwiches for lunch you will prepare by yourself. You can use whatever we have in our cupboards and fridge.
    We are no vegetarians, but hardly cook meat. Most of the meals we prepare are vegetarian and everything is homemade.
    We prefer organic, fresh, healthy and homemade food (but don't mind ordering a Pizza now and then:-))
    If you are eating vegan we will find a solution (maybe you can show us your favourite receipes:-), we always have organic seasonal vegetables, seeds and fruits.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we are only a small village, there are no shops around. But the next smaller city is only 3 km away, no hill - so you can use our bikes (15 min) or go by foot (30-40 min) to get there easily. From there there is public transport to Ulm/Munich/Stuttgart....And also we are always driving around, too. So if possible, you can catch a ride with us. From Ulm you can get everywhere by train/bus (Munich/Stuttgart/Austria/Switzerland/France...). We will always be happy to help you with your travel plans if needed.
    Ulm is cool for typical South German way of life with the blue danube, beergardens, highest church tower, day trips to Munich or just walking trips to nature...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)


























Host ref number: 221241831677