Stay with a family in Wendland in the north of Germany and help with renovation projects and gardening



Favourited 109 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  • Description


    Hi everyone,

    we are a family with four kids (born 2007, 2009,2012,2015), a few dogs and two horses.
    Middle of 2013 we came back from our stay in Malaysia (almost 4 years) and we bought an old farm house with a 10.000m2 garden in the village side in the north of Germany.
    Slowly we want to change the place into a beautiful place to live (in what we understand of permaculture).

    During the past years we had lots to do with going on educational trainings, working, getting our fourth child, big renovations inside the house, estalishing a place for the horses and a lot more. Still work never ends at a place like this. We still have to renovate three rooms (all electric stuff destroyed from rats) and a bath room. Our garden is still a place to create. There was no time for it during the past 3 years. But with everything we are not in a stressful time scedule. We are doing all of that for our own little paradise so we create step by step without pressure and stress.
    We enjoy life very much and our kids are a real gift. It is never boring at our place and sometimes I wish I can double myself to do all the things with the kids I wish to do. Two of them are attending a free school and our third child starts there in august aswell. We fancy unschooling but dont see a way of living that right now.

    In general :

    We are looking for people who like the exchange with others.
    You dont need to have any skills.
    We have lots of ideas for help during everyday life. Fencing as much as building a clay oven, breaking down walls, cooking, playing with the horses, being creative with our kids or going for walks or bicycle rides. Any ideas are welcome and we are always open for whatever ideas and wishes you have.

    Staying with us you will have your own room to sleep, sharing the bathroom. You can use our internet and our bicycles. We are cooking vegan, sometimes eating vegetarian outside at friends/family.

    We are staying around 5km away from the next town for buying groceries and the next bigger city is maybe around 7 km away with even more shops. There is a bus station not to far away on the main road and buses going to the cities few times a day.

    This area called "Wendland" is very famous for the creativity of the people who moved and move here due to the anti - nuclear - movement( since more than 30 years).
    It is also famous for its "Rundlingsdoerfer" (villages built like a pizza with many slices) applying for the world heritage. Very interesting place with cultural activities, music nights and much more - not to forget the "Kulturelle Landpartie" in may/june when life is going crazy here (check it out in the net).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    travellers get to know life in Wendland, language exchange, exchange of ideas and knowledge and skills

  • Help


    preparing food, helping with the kids, helping in the household
    garden work (cutting trees, preparing vegetable beds, ...
    clay work in the house, renovation of rooms with natural materials, enjoying life with whatever comes up,...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english, some russian

  • Accommodation


    double bed, sharing bathroom, staying in the same house with us, eating vegetarian/vegan organic food

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can do many many many side activities such as swimming in lakes in summer , going to concerts, to workshops of any kind, to many different celebrations in different villages and cities, artistic events,... and supporting locals with their political and ecological engagements.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    around 4 hours per day but flexible in general

Host ref number: 298158553937