Join me for some gardening and home improvements near Castlemaine, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a writer and teacher live in a lovely house on a generous double block in Chewton, near Castlemaine. I am sixty-one, work part-time, am active, and enjoy being in nature. I am a passionate and creative gardener and apply permaculture principles and practices to my property. I moved to this house in December 2018. The community here is artistic and friendly which is partly what attracted me to this area. I have two adult children and two young grandchildren and another due in March this year. My family come and stay here from time to time. There are always gardening projects on the go. I plan to build a small self-contained dwelling, and am preparing slowly for this. This summer I discovered I have a blue-tongue lizard living here too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have taught English to non-native speakers for twenty years as my occupation. I love helping people to learn. I am relatively new to the goldfields area and enjoy discovering the region and would include Workaways in this visiting areas of interest. I enjoy swimming at the local swimming spot and walking in nature. I am an experienced and resourceful gardener and love to share the knowledge I have gained.

  • Help

    Help

    General garden maintenance and creative development: pruning, digging, weeding, fixing up my pond, clearing out stuff perhaps demolishing an old shed,, paving a small area, moving furniture, painting, small fix-it jobs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French and Turkish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My two bedroom house has been renovated and has a modern kitchen and bathroom. There is also a separate roomy studio that is available for accommodation. I have a piano which I play and others are welcome to.The glass doors at the back of the house lead to a shady area where it is a pleasure to sit. My property has a large garden and several sheds. The spare bedroom or the studio are available for accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Castlemaine is the closest railway station and Chewton is about seven kilometres from there. There is a bus to Chewton from Castlemaine.I have a car and can help with transport. Chewton is a historic village and there are many walking tracks to discover the goldfields. I live a quiet busy life, live simply and in a sustainable fashion. I have lived and worked overseas and enjoy meeting travellers and travelling.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 485229939217