Small place in unique surroundings, welcomes you :) Explore Bryrup, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/05/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello :) We are a couple living in the beautiful Søhøjlandet (Lake Highland) in the center of Jylland.
    We love the forest and are so lucky to live right next to it.

    it is important to us, also for the sake of the environment and the ecosystem, that we try to use the resources available to us, as well as possible

    When it's the right season we gather herbs, berries, nuts, fruits, mushrooms and make juice and syrup from trees
    Projects and work in the garden as well as in the house are also different depending on the season.
    In the autumn, we harvest, and we pick mushrooms and make pickled vegetables and freeze vegetables and mushrooms . The garden is prepared for winter the same must be done with fencing. The goats is coming home late in the autumn and will be taken care of throughout the winter. In spring, we sprout plants to the greenhouse and sow seeds in the garden.


    We want to expand the use of the opportunities that the garden gives us - so that it benefits us and so that it benefits the wild nature.


    We have several projects we would like help with:

    build a shelter
    create a little pond
    start honey production
    make room for a flea market

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can gain insight into and gain practical experience in our way of life. And then we are both interested in the history of culture and society, and also interested in biology and nature. Jan is good at telling stories and knowing facts. Jane is good at photographing and happy to pass on her knowledge. These things you can gain insight into and we can all share and discuss points of view.

  • Help

    Help

    We expect you to help in everyday life, that is, with cooking and cleaning and so on - as well as we do. And then we can find out if you also need to help with other everyday chores, such as baking and caring for chickens. Or whether you want to help with collecting and preserving food, restoring the house, chopping firewood, mow the lawn or fishing. Maybe you have the skills and/or interest to help us with any of our projects, such as building a shelter, making a pond, and finding the right plants for it, or working with bees.
    All in all, we will appreciate your help :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and wir sprechen ein bisschen deutsch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One room with two beds is availible - we have two bathrooms we all can share. If needed it's possible to prepare a second room.

    We deliver the food - as you can read elsewhere, you probably help, through work, not financially. We eat many vegetables but also meat. If you are a vegetarian, it is not a problem.
    On working days, we cook for ourselves, but in the evening we eat together. On weekends we usually eat all meals together. If we/you go for a trip, we / you just bring packed lunches from home.

    NB We have a cat and a dog (in case you don't like or are allergic to them. )

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since we live in a very scenic area, there is good opportunity to go hiking, one day trip or for several days. We can easily help you with suggestions for beautiful walks. If you want to swim in the summer, there are lakes close by. We do not live far from Silkeborg and other cities, and there is bus running close by. We can suggest interesting places to visit in the cities - cultural or historical.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 293632115446