Help us with our permaculture project on the beautiful island of Bornholm, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 480 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    54  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are having a small farm and permaculture LAND-center.
    Permaculture Denmark has accredited Karensminde as an LAND- center (Learning, Activity, Network, Demonstration- center) and in this capacity you can expect to meet other volunteers from different organizations at the center.
    We grow our own vegetables & fruits, producing sunpower etc.
    Our grownup children & families living away from the island.
    We have been volunteers ourselves in Africa for 3 x 2 years.
    Dora is working 4 days a week as OT outside home.
    Kurt is busy making a wooden workshop in another place of ours and needs help here too.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Customs of danish lifestyle.
    The possibility of meeting other workaways, family and friends of ours
    Attending danish events/traditions whenever during the year

  • Help

    Help

    We need help to build up and practice our permaculture center. Our farm is 3 hektar.
    Gardening: planting, weeding, collecting vegetables, fruits and seeds.
    Looking after our small goats, ducks and chickens
    Cutting trees, preparing firewood.
    General maintenance of buildings and fences.
    Househelp: cleaning, cooking and conserving vegetables and fruit.

    It is a good idea to bring practical clothes and rubber boots for working - sometimes we have to work even in the rain.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 small houses in the garden or rooms in the main building - depending of the season

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is placed on the most beautiful Island in Denmark - if you like nature of any kind, this is the spot for almost everything. Of course we have to share with the tourists during summer time.
    Bornholm also do have plenty of cultural activities of all kinds.
    The local bus is just down the road - and the supermarket is within walking distance.
    We also have bikes you can borrow e.g. to go for a swim in the Baltic Sea or ride through the forrest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)



































Host ref number: 292221372899