Welcome workawayers to Aalborg to help in our family life, Denmark




Favourited 365 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are a small family living in Aalborg. Our family consists of my 3 children age between 5-16 and me, 42-year-old mom :) The boys love to have a big brother (or sister) to play physical games with like running around, hiding, football or building something or teach them your favourite sport, instrument/Music or a quiet-game ;) My daughter wishes a big sister to look up to, to practise English, to fix her hair or learn to deal with something girlish OR motivate her to be more physically active. Mom wishes help with the kids, in the house or garden, and someone who just loves to cook.

    I have a garden (kolonihave) approx 3 km from our home, where we enjoy the garden from April-oct.

    We enjoy learning to know other people, swimming, playing board games and cards.

    My oldest is at boarding School for 1 year (aug 2019-june 2020) but when she is at home in some weekends and holidays, she likes to write stories, read fantasy/Sci-fi/crime books and movies fx Lord of the rings, Sherlock Holmes, Once upon a Time, Riverdale, Supernatural, Marvel...
    She calls herself a nerd.
    She also likes everything with, wolves, and want to learn how to play a ukulele.......

    My middle child is 10 years old, very hyperactive and noisy, likes to play football, play cards or board-games, building Lego, cooking, pc, watch movies and just have fun, although he has also a temper especially at bedtime.

    My youngest is 5 years old and enjoy playing outside, play with toys, hide and seek, loves Superman and Batman, cuddle and enjoy, he can be noisy too, and fight with his older siblings. He can speak English.

    We do not have any pet, but we have sometimes a cat visiting us. He’s called Doctor Loki Buchanan Parker Holmes or for short “misse meow” or “Ruffina”

    During the weekdays the kids are in kindergarten and school, the weekends they are home. The children's father works approx 10-12 weeks abroad and then stay at home approx 10-12 weeks.

    Despite we live in Denmark, I am originally from the Faroe Islands, which means that the rest of the children's and my family/relatives live in the Faroe Islands 1400 km away from Denmark. Daily we speak Faroese at home, but we also speak fluently Danish, and the kids can speak English.

    Since the work at our place involves the kids, we prefer longterm workawayers (12+ weeks), to prevent too many changes for the kids, they already miss their father for weeks, and because they bond to you and miss our workawayers when they leave.

    Since we are a family with children, I require that workawayers who apply:
    - show concern and manners with alcohol and smoking
    - because of allergi I hope workawayer will limit their use of parfume or in general spray parfume products or other spray products. You Can put it on outside :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the possibility to take danish-lessons Tuesdays or Thursdays.

    In our family you will learn a bit about faroese/Danish culture, food, social system, school
    and faroese/danish
    Also follow the seasons and celebrating “cultural” events at home or in the City fx
    - birthdays, fastelavn, Easter, carneval, summer-events, Christmas....

    If you are motivatet for Daily outdoor-exercise, you can challange yourself to walk or run up the stairs with 242 steps :o

    In the period April-October you will have the opportunity to learn and help with garden work, greenhouse, fishpond, and just general maintenance and care in the garden and gardenhouse.

    You will also learn our family habits and all our ups and downs in life :)

  • Help


    As a single mom where all family lives far away, and the children's father is away for long period at a time, I need help to make our family-life just a little more fun and easy with more spare hands.

    I would welcome any help with especially:

    - In the morning 7-8 before the children go to School/kindergarden, when the children come back home at 15 and until the children’s bedtime 20.00.

    - playing with the children and

    - Cooking,

    we are not vegetarians, but if you are, we don't mind to eat vegetarian dishes you make :)

    - help in the house with laundry, vacuum-cleaning, cleaning, dishwashing, clean the car....

    - in the summertime april-okt also al kind of gardening work

    - basically just be the extra spare hands I often need in our daily life.

    I only want workawayers to apply if you really love children (especially the noisy, hyperactive and naughty ones ;) ) and want to spend time with the children.

    With 3 children in the home, it is very difficult to avoid them and you will hear a loud noise and play everywhere in our home.

    Since the work is in our home and to be a part of the family, it is also difficult to have free-time while you are inside our home when the children are home around you, but you are free to explore Aalborg/Denmark :)

    We hope to welcome workawayers that can hopefully minimum stay the whole period from approx:

    Update for year 2020 will come later, but I probably do not have room for workawayes before august 2020. But sometime there is vacant for workawayes at my friends home.

    It is not required, but our family hope to welcome workawayers who:

    - want to stay for long-term (12+ weeks especially the whole period the children's father is away)

    - loves to cook
    - are couple or female, in general, no single males.
    - have experience with childcare, hyperactive children and/or activities for children indoor/outdoor
    and/or likes to be physically active with children outside fx play football, running, games ...
    - are social and can conversate good in a language we speak.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Faroese/Danish/english/little german

  • Accommodation


    We live in an apartment. We are social and would be great to share our daily life with others. We will share living room, bathroom and other facilities in the apartment.

    In the winter-period (sept-march) we spend all our time in the apartment.
    The accommodation will be a bedroom with a bed.
    If there is more than 1 workawayer they share the bedroom (matres on the floor), or one can sleep on the couch in the living room.

    In the summer-period (may-sept) our family may spend time in our garden-house.

    The gardenhouse is only 50m2 with only 1 bedroom. The accommodation for workawayers in this period can be:
    - Tent in the garden, I provide tent and sleeping bags
    - The sleeping-couch in the living room in the garden house.
    - in the apartment

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Aalborg is with its 135.000 inhabitants the 4 largest city in Denmark. Aalborg is a city with a lot of young people studying, so there are a lot of offers and possibilities for young people. Aalborg has everything you need and has a lot of opportunities for activities:

    good library,
    Ice skating in winter
    carnival in may
    Regatta in June
    football, .....
    amusement park Fårup sommerland (1 hour away)
    Music-events in the summer
    Small Christmas-marked in december

    Feel free to visit homepage visitaalborg.com

    we live approx 2 km from city center. Public transport in Denmark is quite good, and buses stop 300 m from our home.

    Aalborg has an international airport you can travel directly to or from Aalborg to some other European countries. If you planning to arrive with an aeroplane, then please check the price to go directly to Aalborg from your destination. Usually you can get really cheap flight-tickets Aalborg-London. It takes about 4-5 hours to travel from Copenhagen airport (Kastrup) to Aalborg with car or train and approx 3 hours from Billund airport. check prices for the train on DSB website

    I will mostly be able to Pick workawayers up from Aalborg airport or bus/trainstation.

    Check out GoMore (car-sharing) to see if you can travel budget to your next destination in Denmark - or if you are lucky maybe somewhere in Europe. Or flixbus.dk for cheap bustickets.

    If you also have plans to do workaway in the Faroes Islands, then you get some basic knowledge about Faroese culture and language at our stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

old Viking graveyard and house fundaments
Salling Rooftop - view of the city centre Aalborg
found a great sign .... no broccoli zone
The little Ironman Shark..... Baby shark do do dododo
ducks visisting our home
hugs <3
a great day at the beach with 3 workawayers :)
Some of the fishes in the fishpond - 3 Koi and some goldfish
My youngest vacuums the car - great helper with the right motivation ;)
My 3 kids and I - a day in the snow :)
The garden at the gardenhouse - view to the fishpond

Host ref number: 485845418371