Gardener and Babysitter - Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 137 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Josh (Josue), and I live in Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre in the Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica. I am looking for someone or couple to help with our small botanical garden. There is plenty of gardening/maintenance to do in our rainy season, (June-November). A couple, or friends traveling together would be the perfect situation, Staying by yourself can get a little boring and solitary after a couple weeks. I prefer experienced volunteers who understand the positives and negatives of volunteering. Unfortunately, first time volunteers have not always been successful.

    Also, I am looking for someone to help take care of my 2 year old son. This is not an easy or difficult task, but based more on how the two of you get along. Most importantly he needs a responsible person and secondly to start learning English. You would need to be mature in attitude (not years), minimally some experience with kids, and speak both Spanish and English for communication and teaching purposes.

    The majority of the time I am around the property and sometimes I need to travel myself. My two year old son and his mother are on the property next door and also help with the property. Thus, You will not be alone or without direction irrelevant of the circumstances.

    We are located in Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre in the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica. Please research our town on the internet as we are off the between path and do not have all the conveniences of the modern world but are blessed with the nature that surrounds us.

    Dos Brazos borders the world renowned Corcovado National Park, the reason I came to Costa Rica 15 years ago. This is not your average little town. It is off the beaten path and a tight knit community with very little to offer as far as supplies. There is little to no cellular signal, no real store, restaurant or place to hang out. You need to be a very self sufficient to be interested in this position. Spanish and English are a necessity and 1month minimum stay.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located on the border of one of the most biodiverse places on the planet, Corcovado National Park, in the Osa peninsula of Costa Rica. IF you like nature and being off the beating path you will be more than pleasantly surprised by unplugging from the hustle and bustle from city life and enjoying the simpler life.

  • Help

    Help

    Two separate positions available: Gardener and babysitter

    Generally speaking from 8am to 12pm Monday thru Friday are general working hours for both jobs with weekends off.

    Gardener -
    Weeding (with your hands), Trimming, picking up debris, lots of fun with wheel-barrel disposing of debris, planting, caring for plants, getting dirty and having fun with the ants!

    Babysitter-
    Simple as spending time with my son playing and learning. He loves attention as most kids do but the issue is for him to focus on something else besides his mom or me. This will entail taking walks in the stroller or if he starts walking more on his own, going to the river, or saying hi to the nearest horse as he loves animals. He needs to around people speaking English and most importantly start learning and repeating if possible.

    FOOD
    We purchase the food and you are responsible for cooking your own meals if preparation is necessary.
    There is a small fridge and cooktop stove with cooking utensils, pots, pans, and tableware. Of course you would be invited to eat with us when possible. Unfortunately we have full time jobs and do not always have a set schedule to eat, thus you need to be self-sufficient in preparing your own food. We purchase the food and all the basics that you would need.

    Typical breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Breakfast: Eggs, cereal, toast with jelly or peanut butter, and fresh fruits. Coffee or tea.
    Lunch/Dinner - Sandwiches, pastas, meats, soups, vegetables and of course our staple foods - rice and beans.

    Please email with questions - I will try to get back to you within 48 hours.

    Thank you - Josh

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    ACCOMODATION:

    In the garden we have an outdoor bunk house that accommodates 4 people, 4 bunkbeds. It is not luxurious but newly built and definitely more than adequate. You will be pleasantly surprised with your living area as there is a large multi-use octagonal building to rest and relaxing with bathrooms, showers and small kitchen. You would possibly share the bunkhouse with another volunteer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The bus from San Jose to Puerto Jimenez is 8-10 hours, then the minivan (buseta) from Puerto Jimenez to Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre is a 30 minute drive. The bust in Puerto Jimenez leave the hardware store Grupos Materiales at 11am and 4pm (approximately $3). I am also often in Puerto Jimenez and my be available to pick you up.

    Please purchase all food items and supplies you will need prior to arriving. Drinking water is in Dos Brazos is very clean and safe.

    I highly advise you to research the Osa peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Corcovado NP and specifically our town Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre.

    IF you are a person that needs to stay connected and uses your cell phone a lot this is not the place for you. We have limited internet and cell phone reception.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours a week max







Host ref number: 291162884314