Become part of our family and help with childminding near Auray, France

Country

France

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 living in a lovely house with an 800 square metre garden/garden overlooking the woodland (which surrounds the housing estate).
    The values that we try to instil in our children are open-mindedness (respect for differences of opinion, of being, of lifestyle...), sharing (of experience, exchanges), emphatic listening (Carl Rogers), joy of living, respect for nature, animals, respect for the child's rhythm, expression of each person's needs (NVC approach - we try 😅), phenomenology (trying to approach life in general and in all its aspects by putting aside our apriori to see the world with children's eyes...)...
    If this speaks to you, contact us! We look forward to meeting new people!

    How could you help us (in addition to rich exchanges and sharing )
    We are looking for a person who loves children (2 and 5 years old) to help us mainly to play with them, to look after them, but also to help with the preparation of the meals, the vegetable garden or the care of the animals (or maybe help to preparing our Moving (boxing up our stuff, helping us load/unload it, depending on when you come)) ...

    We love animals, we have a dog (Australian Shepherd), two cats, a hen, two ducks, guinea pigs, rabbits and two ferrets...

    The sea is about ten kilometres from the house, so we like to go there to let the children play in the sand, but also to go fishing, angling, walking...

    Our activities and outings follow the seasons: at the moment if the weather is good we go mushroom and chestnut picking.
    On rainy days, we try to find activities that everyone can enjoy (visit to a museum about boats, underwater, aquarium, board games at the games library). And during the school holidays we try to make the most of the activities on offer (e.g. demonstration of old-fashioned apple pressing, wool making, weaving, clown show, ...)

    We are slowly preparing our change of life to go on a nomadic adventure, so we will be present and have time to share walks to discover.
    Families are welcome !🥰

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our beautiful region is full of possibilities: the listed megaliths of Carnac, the wild coast of Quiberon, cycling or horse riding by the sea, the beautiful city of Vannes and its architecture, the islands such as Ile aux Moines, the Breton festivals and their dances, ... there are so many things to discover that we will be delighted to share with you!
    We like to cook seafood bought or collected during our fishing trips. In autumn we go mushrooming, chestnuts, blackberries. We also fish a bit from the harbours or the seaside.
    We
    And as I am Belgian I could also cook you some typical dishes like french fries, Liege waffles, Belgian pancakes, ...

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a person/a couple/ a family (that could be the best for our child) who could mainly take care of the children: play with them, dress them,...
    Or helping with meal, preparing our moving…
    we do unschooling at home
    We try to give a caring education, welcoming and respectful of emotions.

    We are therefore looking for someone who is patient and if possible has some knowledge of the difficulties that atypical children can encounter or who feels ready to welcome differences. Our 5 year old son has some peculiarities like hypersensitivity, a slight form of autism (which is maybe more a form of ADD/ADHD - too fast for a diagnosis - it manifests itself by little things like the need not to mix food on his plate, sometimes strong emotions, a need to spend a lot of time, a great curiosity, a difficulty to look in the eyes or to get his attention sometimes,...). ) But he is a lovely boy who may not hug a lot but when he does it will be with a moving sincerity, he is curious about everything, smiling, intelligent...
    His 2 year old brother is a little guy who is always smiling, very cuddly, who eats everything, ...
    There may also be some DIY work in the house.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be able to move into the boys' room, which they only occupy sometimes during the day to play, but we will move their toys into the living room to give you maximum privacy. A brand new single bed and some shelves for your clothes and things.
    We believe that meals are a special time for sharing, so we would be happy to share them together.
    As for the menus, we are not vegetarian but we respect everyone's needs or beliefs.
    We are always happy to discover new recipes, from here or elsewhere, vegan, vegetarian or not. So if you feel like cooking for the family, it will be with great pleasure.
    We take care of the cost of the food. We try to consume organic, local and a maximum of home-made food (for less sugar - a diabetic adult - and no preservatives...).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For your free time, a bicycle will be at your disposal with panniers and helmets. Buses run from the village (about 1.5km away) to Auray, Carnac, Erdeven...
    In Auray (5km) you will find a shopping area with supermarkets, organic shops, bakeries, ...
    In the village, there is a tobacconist's, a post office, a bakery, two hairdressers, a grocery shop and a pharmacy.
    In summer, the train station located in the village is served by the train taking you either to Quiberon and its wild coast, or to Auray.
    Auray has a very well served station.
    The house is surrounded by a wood with a cycle track which leads to the village.

    Smoking is allowed but outside.
    We rarely drink alcohol but don't worry if you want to (at your own expense and as long as it doesn't harm anyone - don't drink when you are looking after the children, or be aggressive, or put yourself in danger)..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Contact us before because our cat has been injury by a dog so it could be afraid of stranger’s dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 243124163255